Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey everyone, I'm running slack 10.2 with the latest release of vsftpd, custom compiled (not package), running standalone. Server is going to be used to help serve patient records over ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

chrooted vsftpd is mapping users to / not home dir

Hey everyone,

I'm running slack 10.2 with the latest release of vsftpd, custom compiled (not package), running standalone. Server is going to be used to help serve patient records over VPN's to remote offices (I work in a hospital). I want to chroot all my users to a single common directory, but I can't even get chroot to work properly to make them map to their /home/username directories.

What happens is that when a client connects, they only "see" /, but they aren't seeing ANYTHING in the directory. No /etc, /boot, /home, etc... and if I try and type the path in manually, aka, /home/sleeplab, it cannot find the directory.

I have read the mans! And googled.

Here is my vsftpd.config file

<vsftpd.config>
    anonymous_enable=NO
    local_enable=YES
    write_enable=YES
    local_umask=022
    #anon_upload_enable=YES
    #anon_mkdir_write_enable=YES
    dirmessage_enable=YES
    xferlog_enable=YES
    connect_from_port_20=YES
    #chown_uploads=YES
    #chown_username=whoever
    xferlog_file=/var/log/vsftpd.log
    xferlog_std_format=YES
    #idle_session_timeout=600
    #data_connection_timeout=120
    nopriv_user=ftpsecure
    #async_abor_enable=YES
    #ascii_upload_enable=YES
    #ascii_download_enable=YES
    ftpd_banner=FTP Server
    #deny_email_enable=YES
    #banned_email_file=/etc/vsftpd.banned_emails
    #chroot_list_file=/etc/vsftpd.chroot_list
    ls_recurse_enable=YES
    listen=YES
    background=YES
    chroot_local_user=YES
    userlist_enable=YES
    userlist_file=/etc/vsftpd.user_list

</vsftpd.config>

AND - here is my passwd file

<passwd>

root:0:0::/root:/bin/bash