Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm a Linux noob. Now that that's over, I can get on to what I need help with. I've been searching for a few hours now for detailed noob instructions ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partitons.

I'm a Linux noob.

Now that that's over, I can get on to what I need help with.

I've been searching for a few hours now for detailed noob instructions on what exactly I need to do in Partiton Magic partition wise.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

That depends entirely on what you're hoping to achieve. As this is the Slackware forum i presume you're trying to install Slackware...?

In which case, do you need to use Partition Magic? Can't Slackware create the relevant partitions for you at install?
    Registered Linux User #379728

SuSE 10.3 :: Athlon XP 3000+ :: AsRock K7VT4A Pro :: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT :: C-Media 8738

www.psypherpunk.org.uk

The way to do it is to leave some space unpartitionned on your drive, so that Slackware can take care of its own partionning sheme.

The only use for partition magic I could think of is if you want to shrink an existing partion (your windows partition) so you will end-up with some unpartitionned space for your Slackware install.

Have fun!
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

-Bruce Lee

Just Joined!
    Alright, so slack does it's own partitioning?

Btw, I'm useing a secondary hardrive for this, so, I'd be booting windows on hda and slack on hdb.

Linux User
    Quote Originally Posted by TheSickEmpire
    Alright, so slack does it's own partitioning?

Btw, I'm useing a secondary hardrive for this, so, I'd be booting windows on hda and slack on hdb.
    So yes slack could partition ur disk using cfdisk but u must sacrify the data.