Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
i wouldnt chuck that machine out. still useful those machines are....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640

    i wouldnt chuck that machine out. still useful those machines are.
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  2. #22
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    I'd agree somewhat, but even if you want to use it for a router you'd need ISA network cards etc, and I still wouldnt bother with X on it.

    SX25 has no maths coprocessor too.

    let me know what you're planning on using it for though, a simple text processing terminal and text based IRC/HTTP browsing might be ok I guess. but I'd still chuck it in the bin and use a pentium based system at least.

  3. #23
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by kern
    I'd agree somewhat, but even if you want to use it for a router you'd need ISA network cards etc, and I still wouldnt bother with X on it.

    SX25 has no maths coprocessor too.

    let me know what you're planning on using it for though, a simple text processing terminal and text based IRC/HTTP browsing might be ok I guess. but I'd still chuck it in the bin and use a pentium based system at least.
    thanks for clearing that up, i forgot about the isa network cards and i didnt know about that proc not having a maths coprocessor .
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks for the advice -- I'll just stick with CLI. I think the Kingston Overdrive chip actually does have a math coprocessor, but even so it sounds like X will push the machine over the edge. (A $4.00 ISA network card on ebay and Slackware actually saved the machine from the trash heap.)

    I use the box as a family/sandbox web server over a cable modem, and for that it works very well. (Yes, apache, php, perl, mysql, bind, sendmail all run fine, which is really hilarious -- no one can tell it's a 486 when they are browsing pages.)

    All I would use X for is editing HTML and config files, looking at log files and the like. Currently I'm using the joe editor over ssh sessions, or I'll develop pages on machines from this century and upload via FTP.

    So rather than mess up my super-duper web server, I'll skip X....

    Again, thanks!

  6. #25
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    Quote Originally Posted by Weedman
    thanks for clearing that up, i forgot about the isa network cards and i didnt know about that proc not having a maths coprocessor .
    SX prefix = no 387 maths copro
    DX prefix = maths co pro

  7. #26
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    thanks for clearing that up.

    i read that somewhere before but someone said that it was the opposite way around so i got confused.

    thanks again
    weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  8. #27
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    its all over folks

    i through out the old 486 for the reason that it was suffering from hardware failure of some descripition.

    /weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  9. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    5
    Hi I have installed slackware 10.2 on an old machine and then have same type of graphics chip "Cirrus CL-GD5428"

    I canīt make the cirrus drive work when i run startx

    my xorg.conf
    http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/u.../xorg.conf.txt
    and Xorg.0.log
    http://files.upl.silentwhisper.net/u...Xorg.0.log.txt

    any ideas?

    /fedor

  10. #29
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    I think, if I remember correctly, the cirrus driver didn't work with X.

    Try the vga driver, just to see if it works.

    It really is truely amazing that I can look back on my past posts like this. It feels weird .

    Question: what distro are you using? One may assume Slackware, considering that's kinda what I used for my 486, and for most of this thread.

    Idea: Comment out this line in your xorg.conf file. Put a # in front of it.
    Code:
    BusID       "ISA"
    Hope this helps,

    ^weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  11. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks, the vga driver works but i want a better driver

    I tried to comment out bussID but it did not work either

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •