Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
helllo again, i have tried installing slackware 10.1 on a really old system. It took me awhile, but i finally got over some problems with cylinder limitations on the hdd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640

    Help with slackware on a REALLY old system


    helllo again,

    i have tried installing slackware 10.1 on a really old system. It took me awhile, but i finally got over some problems with cylinder limitations on the hdd and so on.

    i managed to get these packages installed (off the top of my head):
    - A
    - D (i think)
    - L
    - Most of X but without devel and extra fonts
    - some of the XAP series (really only a few aps and fluxbox

    after all that, the only thing that wont work is X. After configuring it till the cows come home, it still gives me half the screen with the res being really low.
    i can only use the generic driver (at least thats what it tells me) because my old graphics card is unsupported.

    hardware list:
    - 486-DX4 100mhz (i think it is a DX4)
    - 16 mb ram (upgraded to 32 mb in the process of trying to get x working)
    - 1 gb hdd
    - everything including cd drive woring through a isa controller card
    - cd drive
    - Cirrus Logic GD5426 (unknown vram, maybe 1 mb)

    as said above i dont know the vram size, but i have experimented around with no luck.

    does anybody know how to fix this, or should i just abandon trying X?

    thanks
    weed
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    I would think on something as old as that, although, it would run X, would be faster not to

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    I think X is achievable, but it will be slow, if you can install at least 64 RAM. Anything under that I think is gonna give you fits. Also, if you have a few bucks and a pci or agp slot, you could buy an Nvidia with on board RAM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie mindblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    iasi, RO
    Posts
    132
    Try something older... I had a pentium at 120 mhz, 32 mb RAM and i used RH 7.2 with Wmaker. Works just fine.

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Quote Originally Posted by mindblast
    Try something older... I had a pentium at 120 mhz, 32 mb RAM and i used RH 7.2 with Wmaker. Works just fine.
    Good point mindblast. A light window manager rather than a full-fledged Desktop Environment will be a better choice at any rate under such conditions.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    so what are you saying?

    are you saying that i should use an older distro? ie slackware 5 or something?

    and btw, last time i checked, fluxbox wasnt a desktop environment.

    finally, i cant upgrade the pc with anymore ram as it has not enough slots.
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    32MB is a bit low for X too

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Damnsmalllinux would quite happily run on that machine until the end of the world.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast Weedman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, Australia
    Posts
    640
    i will try dsl, but is there an easy-enough install script i can use?

    and what will it be like once i have installed it? does it use grub or lilo?

    very btw, i finally got something to happen with that old pc. I didnt configure x and just edited the xorg.conf file by hand. It is currently using (very slowly!) vesa framebuffer with blackbox.

    it is very slow. i really like the idea of running dsl on it, cause i am used to dsl now after a play with it.

    edit= i am wondering whether it would be worth compiling my own kernel with framebuffer support built in. is that such a good idea? or should i be thankful for the fact i have an x (slow but just working)?
    "Time has more than one meaning, and is more than one dimension" - /.unknown
    --Registered Linux user #396583--

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Luton, England, UK, Earth
    Posts
    639
    Yeah. Very easy to install, all info can be found on the wiki. I would recommend a frugal install, easier to upgrade. Very fast.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •