Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I am completely new to linux and have installed Slackware 10.2 on my PC. I have been having problems getting it to be online with my wireless network. I found ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless and Slackware 10.2

I am completely new to linux and have installed Slackware 10.2 on my PC. I have been having problems getting it to be online with my wireless network. I found wireless drivers for linux and my wireless card. I rtfmed and did exactly what it said. It was able to see my network and connect. However, I was still unable to pull any web pages. What do I need to do? I was also curious if there was a way to compile the driver into my kernel and have it start at startup. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Jeremy

Linux Newbie
    if your wireless driver is a native linux driver, then you can add it in as a module and make it load, during your native start up stuff, or even configure it as a kernel chunk.

if your card requires ndiswrapper, then the best that you can do is make sure that the ndiswrapper is automatically loaded on startup, and that the driver is all squared away...can't compile ndiswrapper as a embedded kernel piece (yet)
    Chicks dig giant mechanized war machines

Just Joined!
    Thank you for the response TheBigPhish. How exactly do I build it into the kernal as a module?

Linux Newbie
    does your wireless card come natively supported by slackware?

or does it need ndiswrapper?

Just Joined!
    It doesn't come natively supported by it. However the manufacturer of the chip released a driver for it. http://www.ralinktech.com/supp-1.htm is the link for it.

Linux Newbie