Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
guys referring to this article: (btw m using apache 1.3.34) ************************************************** **** Apache + SSL Howto Written by SiegeX - 2004-09-07 07:02 If you ever do online banking and notice ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    starting SSL


    guys referring to this article: (btw m using apache 1.3.34)

    ************************************************** ****
    Apache + SSL Howto
    Written by SiegeX - 2004-09-07 07:02

    If you ever do online banking and notice all the URL's start with https:// and have a lockpad symbol on the browser, well thats SSL.

    In order to tell Apache to include SSL support we need to edit the /etc/apache/httpd.conf file and scroll ALL the way to the bottom. This is where we will uncomment the following line.

    change this:
    #Include /etc/apache/mod_ssl.conf

    to this:
    Include /etc/apache/mod_ssl.conf


    Once that is done you need to make a simple edit to the /etc/rc.d/rc.httpd file so that the apache server knows you want to startup with SSL support.

    change this:
    'start')
    /usr/sbin/apachectl start ;;
    to this:
    'start')
    /usr/sbin/apachectl startssl ;;

    ************************************************** ************
    so after following the instructions (uncommenting the mod_ssl.conf in httpd.conf,) here is what i did next;
    since my httpd is running, i stopped it first:

    /usr/sbin/apachectl stop: httpd stopped

    then, i started it using startssl:

    root@darkstar:/usr/sbin# /usr/sbin/apachectl startssl
    but here was the error:
    /usr/sbin/apachectl startssl: httpd could not be started

    so i just turned it back to :
    root@darkstar:/usr/sbin# /usr/sbin/apachectl start
    /usr/sbin/apachectl start: httpd started


    ***************************************
    what do you think is the problem?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    45
    Have you checked the apache logs -- some clues might be there. Did you create the certificates, keys, etc...? I've done it only a couple times and remember it being a bit of a pain...

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    i haven't because it was NOT stated on the article that to be able to start ssl i REALLY need to create certificates.. i think I just have to upgrade my mod_ssl to 1.3.34 also
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •