Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
When I try partition my hard drive when installing Slackware I get an error saying that I can't write partition table. When I make a new partition and try to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5

    Unable to write partition table


    When I try partition my hard drive when installing Slackware I get an error saying that I can't write partition table. When I make a new partition and try to write the table to disk I get 'Unable to write /dev/hda' error. How can I fix this?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    which prog do u use to partition ur HHD? Do u specify /dev/hda1 or hda2?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    I use fdisk. I type fdisk /dev/hda.
    Does it matter if the disk is slave or master?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9

    New Thread Button

    Where is the new thread button. All I see is post reply. Do you need a certain number of posts in order to start a new thread? Thanks, Angela.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    If you are telling fdisk to use hda, that is the same as telling it to partition the primary master.

    To be honest I prefer to use cfdisk, you can see all the partitions as you create/edit/delete them.

    Just type
    Code:
    cfdisk /dev/hda
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    I tried cfdisk as well. The problem is when I try to write the partition table to disk, as the disk is read only.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Is it possible that you have some type of AV or some setting at the BIOS level keeping you from changing the partition table?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    Could be BIOS level MBR protection for viruses, enabled, as he said.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    I doubt it. I tried another harddrive earlier, and it worked fine there. I took it out because it was too small. 1,9GB or something. But I'll check it out.

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    Try setting the addressing mode for that HDD to LBA32 or AUTO, and see if LILO still complains

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •