Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi guys i'm brand new to linux and I need help setting up my verizon dsl. I don't know where to start. I have an installation cd for the verizon ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8

    installing verizon dsl on slackware


    Hi guys i'm brand new to linux and I need help setting up my verizon dsl. I don't know where to start. I have an installation cd for the verizon software, but it only runs in windows. How do I go about installing the software and connecting to the internet? I'm connecting via USB port. Thanks for any help guys.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    This thread should help.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    thanks man... i'm still having problems getting linux to recognize my modem. It's a Westell Dual Connect (external) from verizon, i'm trying to hook it up via USB. On the modem there are status lights and the 'USB light' isn't coming on while on linux. I have the modem drivers on the windows installation disk, but they're in ".sys" format. How do I install the drivers for this modem onto linux and get online? I've already downloaded a PPPoe client.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Please understand I don't know about your particular modem, I'm just trying to assist in going through some steps that might help you get it configured and connected. Hopefully someone else who knows more about your modem will see this thread and chime in with assistance.

    You *may* not have to have drivers for it since it is an external modem. Do you see your modem, or at least a new unknown device when doing...
    Code:
    /sbin/lsusb
    ?
    If so, try configuring your connection with:
    Code:
    netconfig
    Then post the output of:
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig -a
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    after putting in the command: /sbin/lsusb
    in it detected my usb modem. I got

    "Bus 001 Device 002:ID 06A9:0005 Westell"

    Ran netconfig

    entered command: /sbin/ifconfig -a

    output:

    eth0 Link encap: Ethernet Hwaddr 00:0F:B5:FE:6D:4D
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0b) TX bytes:0 (0.0b)
    Interrupt: 3 base address 0 x 2000

    lo Link encap: Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX Packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0b) TX bytes:0 (0.0b)


    Thanks for your help so far, I appreciate it.

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Does this device by chance also have a way for you to connect with a regular cat5 ethernet cable? Or is the usb cable the only way you can connect it to your computer?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Yes the modem has a dual connect feature. USB/Ethernet. But the ethernet jack runs to my brother's room. I use the USB.

  9. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Rats! I've been trying to find you some info on how to get it connected by USB but can't come up with anything new. A really easy way to get 'er done is to buy a router. If you can get your hands on a cheap Linksys down at Kmart then all you'd need to do is run the ethernet connection to the router, then two ethernet cables out to each of your boxes. Done!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    Rats! I've been trying to find you some info on how to get it connected by USB but can't come up with anything new. A really easy way to get 'er done is to buy a router. If you can get your hands on a cheap Linksys down at Kmart then all you'd need to do is run the ethernet connection to the router, then two ethernet cables out to each of your boxes. Done!
    This would provide an added layer of security as well. I always recommend installing routers(NAT) for the home, even if there is only 1 system online.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Ok, i'll just use the ethernet jack when i boot up linux, and eventually get a router. How would I go about setting it up?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •