Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Slapt-get --available or slapt-get --installed will not work unless slapt-get --update has run first. Why is this? Thanks in advance tech...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    323

    why run slapt-get update before slapt-get install?


    Slapt-get --available or slapt-get --installed will not work unless slapt-get --update has run first. Why is this?

    Thanks in advance

    tech

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I don't know why that would be. Both work for me without having to first run slapt-get --update.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4
    Do you have to run it everytime you do so? In my experience, I only had to run it once after a fresh install.

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    323
    neehnahw, my unfamiliarity with Slackware demands that I reinstall it every 2 days, so your observation may well be correct. Regardless, I have just updated Qt with it, but the error message tells me that I should have run qmake to install it. On a more general note, where are these packages installed and how does one use them from the terminal?

    Thank in advance

    tech

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    what i think is going on is that --update updates a file that has a list of all the packages and versions on the servers. if you dont run update it cant tell that newer version of a package are on the server to download so it wont update that file. from what i understand it checks your system (whats installed) against its list (whats on the server) to find newer packages to download. but thats just how i understand it. i could be entirely wrong its happend before. as for where they are stored you should be able to find that out by going throught the config file.

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    323
    Sorry for asking, but what is the config file and do I use just locate to find it? I suppose this works for the root only?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    35
    The file is slapt-getrc and is located in the /etc/slapt-get directory.
    There, you can edit what directory you want files saved in, what version you want to use (10.2, current, etc), what to not upgrade, etc.
    HTH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •