Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All, I've read through the forum for a lot of today (great help and tips by the way!), but unfortunately I've not been able to resolve my problem by ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Another newbie with wireless problems!

Hi All,

I've read through the forum for a lot of today (great help and tips by the way!), but unfortunately I've not been able to resolve my problem by looking at the steps others have taken.

I have recently installed Slack 10.2 on a Toshiba Portege 3440CT laptop (yep, that's probably the only laptop in the world without a CD OR Floppy drive, however, I have managed to get one of my pendrives working, so data transfer is no longer an issue!). I have some experience with Linux - I've been using UNIX and Linux occasionally at work for the past 18 months or so, and I've had slack on another PC (albeit one with a wired network adaptor) and I'm really happy with it.

The laptop has an SMC Wireless cardbus adaptor. Model number SMC2835W (I think version 2.0) and is described as an "EZ Connect G". The PCMCIA/CardBus slots work fine, and the card is definitely being detected by Slack.

If I run iwconfig (either immediately after logging in, or though Konsole in KDE) I get the following:

Code:
    eth0
    NOT READY! ESSID:off/any Nickmane:"laptop"
    Mode: Managed  Channel:0 Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
    Tx-Power=31dBm  Sensitivity=0/200
    Retry min limit:0 RTS thr=0 B  Fragment thr=0 B
    Encryption key:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level=0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 RX invalid crype:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Incalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0