Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi, i'm running Vector Linux which is a Slackware derivative. the version i have is using the 2.6.13 kernel. anyhow, i just installed it on my laptop, and added an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194

    DHCP: failed


    hi,

    i'm running Vector Linux which is a Slackware derivative. the version i have is using the 2.6.13 kernel.

    anyhow, i just installed it on my laptop, and added an Oviling rj45 lan card (abocom dec-tulip compatible). i have the module working properly, and my network device (eth0) set to use dhcp

    however, on startup, dhcp ALWAYS fails to start and i have no idea how to get it working. i have my laptop linked to a 5 port network hub, allong with my desktop pc and my cable modem, so i dont know why my laptop's dhcp fails and my desktop is able to connect to the internet with no problems.

    plz, i'm kinda desperate to get this working, been trying for days so any help is appreciated.

    ttyl

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    43
    I could well be wrong, but:

    My cable modem only gives out one IP address, so if I used a hub/switch to connect, the first device to pick up a DHCP lease would get the only address. Any subsequent attempts to pick up a DHCP address would fail.
    Therefore, in my case (using NTL in the UK), I use a router with inbuilt DHCP to give the individual PCs their (private 192.168.x.x) ip addresses.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    9
    Hi,
    what's the output of
    /sbin/ifconfig

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I'm with damianconnolly. Based on the information you've given, It appears to me you need a router to assign your laptop and desktop pc seperate local ip addresses. Then, when you run dhcpcd eth0 from the laptop, the router can give it one. Your Isp is going to assign you just one ip which is presently being used by your desktop pc.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    i see, you're probably right about the network hub thing.... but i have tryed to link my laptop to the modem directly as well, and even that fails.

    ifconfig only returns the 'lo' loopback connection

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    thanx guys for the help but all is working. i disconnected my desktop, rebooted my modem and then reconnected it directly to my laptop, and it worked!

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    after searching on a local auction site, i found a 2nd hand 4 port smc router for about $15:

    here are the specs:
    http://www.smc.com/index.cfm?event=v...&scid=&pid=927

    would that router be able to share my cable connection so that both my desktop and laptop could connect via dhcp?

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    From their description...
    To manage these connections, the SMC7004VBR has a built-in DHCP server that auto-assigns IP addresses to devices on your network.
    ...so it looks like it will work adequately. Whether or not it is of good quality, I cannot guess.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    Code:
    Whether or not it is of good quality, I cannot guess
    well, for the price i cant realy complain

    thanx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •