Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all I am new in linux. i got Slackware 10.2 installed. i never installed any linux dist in a company network ...here is we have a lot of Windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I cant ping Windows/Linux boxes in our network

Hi all I am new in linux. i got Slackware 10.2 installed. i never installed any linux dist in a company network ...here is we have a lot of Windows boxes and control them with Active Directory ...i did install slack and did config of the DHCP client so everything its cool i have internet and intranet but when i am trying to ping some windows or linux box over its hostname my slacks tells me that :

root@salck:~# ping anyhostname
    ping: unknown host anyhostname
    root@slack:~#

any ideas why this happends? thanks in advance

Add them to your /etc/hosts file.

Just Joined!
    yes i thought about that but the Pcz are more than 10.000 it is impossible to add them all in host file
    any other suggestions?

Linux Guru
    If you already have a windows environment - surely you have a DNS server? You should be able to use this, instead of trying to modify hosts files.

Just Joined!
    you are right ...i use resolv.conf and i put the ips of the DNS servers there ...but nothings happend ...the same old error ....i am sure that these ips are the DNS ips but ....error again

Just Joined!
    I too get that.
    I can for example ping google by ip but not by name.
    I haven't found a solution to this as yet, however, I can access google (or any other site) via a web browser by name so it's not such an issue for me.

Linux Enthusiast
    Can I get you to check the files /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/host.conf. Particuarly host.conf containing a line "mdns on". If it does then change it to "mdns off" and try pinging google again.

If that isn't the case can you post the contents of those files and the resolv.conf file.

Let us know how you get on.