Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
I thought KDM did that by default? if not I guess you'd want to be looking at the KDM config file to add such an option, this is if I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668

    I thought KDM did that by default?

    if not I guess you'd want to be looking at the KDM config file to add such an option, this is if I get you correctly.

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    so the question is HOW can i DO such a thing that will enable me to CHOOSE between KDE and flux upon entering the login screen. .
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    http://madpenguin.org/cms/index.php/?m=show&id=325

    I believe this is what you want, if you use KDM, which is default if you have KDE installed.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    ok, il do this when i get home.. Mr. OZAR also gave me a link. . il try to apply the suggested links.. thanks
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    whewwww: solved!!!

    i got the track!!! i edited xinitrc.fluxbox

    i changed the default location to /usr/local/bin/startfluxbox

    that's aLL. .

    (i already have my .fluxbox dir )

    thanks to the helpers of my post!! Sir OZAR, KERN and JavaSnob. . .


    now its time for me to go further with their docs. . . another road to challenge
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  7. #16
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    may I ask why your fluxbox binary is in /usr/local/bin ?

    I take it you're not using the fluxbox package that came with slackware?

    ah

  8. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    yup I did not used the default of slack. I downloaded a new source from the site. . actually it was suggested to me by a friend.. (in that way I WILL BE able to LEARN.. and not just use the packages i see. . ) from compiling, and tweaking my box..


    Xcess : m confused.. what does binary mean? im always thinking binary as the term in MATH..
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  9. #18
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    just sounds like hard work to me ,

    you learn nothing compiling stuff, and as you said, you didn't have a ~/.fluxbox directory when you compiled your own fluxbox package (it was a package wasnt it?), in my opinion if a package comes with slack, I use it. compiling your own doesnt offer much, if any of a performance increase. and simply wastes your time compiling something that is a package on the cdrom anyway.

    its hardly difficult to configure, make, and make a package from a source tarball, unless its a kernel which takes a little more effort and knowledge.

    binary = built from source executable

    i.e my fluxbox binary in /usr/local/bin

    you see?

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    i got ur point.. but mine is. . since i am just starting to explore the world of linux, i am being advise to do the possible tasks without being dpendent too much in the READY made packages... its like "practice makes perfect" yes as u say compiling is not that challenging? but for me.. i gives me the confidence of handling such things... (of course compared to an expert / advance users like you guys..) i really need more confidence on doing such things. . time may come that when i reached the stage wherein i almost know it all.. il just be dpendent on ready made packages. . . im coming from a student point of view. .


    now i know. . basically a binary is the source location of ANY executable apllication ? did i got it right?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  11. #20
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    no, a binary is what you build from the source.

    i.e

    "I built my fluxbox binary from the source tarball"

    binary = executable = built from source.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •