Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Code: me@darkstar:/etc/X11/xinit$ cat xinitrc.fluxbox #!/bin/sh # $XConsortium: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.4 91/08/22 11:41:34 rws Exp $ userresources=$HOME/.Xresources usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap sysresources=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources sysmodmap=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap # merge in defaults and keymaps if [ -f $sysresources ]; then ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    fluxbox_install_help


    Code:
    me@darkstar:/etc/X11/xinit$ cat xinitrc.fluxbox
    #!/bin/sh
    # $XConsortium: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.4 91/08/22 11:41:34 rws Exp $
    
    userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
    usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
    sysresources=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources
    sysmodmap=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap
    
    # merge in defaults and keymaps
    
    if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
        xrdb -merge $sysresources
    fi
    
    if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
        xmodmap $sysmodmap
    fi
    
    if [ -f $userresources ]; then
        xrdb -merge $userresources
    fi
    
    if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
        xmodmap $usermodmap
    fi
    
    # Start the window manager:
    exec /usr/X11R6/bin/startfluxbox   
    
    
    note : my xinitrc is -> to xinitrc.kde (kde is my default as of now)
    
    here is the content of  /usr/local/bin 
    
    /usr/local/bin$ ls
    
    fbrun*  fbsetbg*  fbsetroot*  fluxbox*  fluxbox-generate_menu*  lame*  
    mp3rtp*  mp3x*  startfluxbox*
    
    
    
    1. i did not create yet the ./fluxbox dir
    2. i want to have the WM option whether kde or fluxbox is to be used
    i need your help guys
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    this is the nonexistant $HOME/.xinitrc problem again right?

    Code:
    echo "exec fluxbox" > ~/.xinitrc

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    the command suggested above will produce the "exec fluxbox" to a created ./xinitrc in my home right?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    well, nearly,

    it'll produce a dotfile called ~/.xinitrc

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    so after doing that, what should i expect?

    1. will it enable me to choose between KDE and flux in the login prompt?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    It won't let you choose; it'll just run fluxbox whenever you run 'startx.'
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    yes, but i would like to have the WM menu option whether to play KDE or fluxbox.. i know its possible.. but i dont know how to do it. .
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  9. #8
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Is this what you are wanting to do?

    http://fluxbox-wiki.org/index.php/Ho...fluxbox_to_kdm
    oz

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    are you talking about INIT4 KDM/XDM Login?

    if so, change the 3 to a 4 in /etc/inittab, the initdefault line

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    hmm nope.. ok; my initdefault is 4 - GUI of kde.. what i want is after installing fluxbox, of course i want to still use kde.. so i need a menu wherein before i login i can choose whether kde or fluxbox is to be used. .
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •