Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
How many disk do I need to download? I just downloaded from ftp://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slac...ware-10.0-iso/ the 2 install ISOs but I see two more with source tags, Do I need to download ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064

    Quick Question about Slackware


    How many disk do I need to download? I just downloaded from ftp://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slac...ware-10.0-iso/ the 2 install ISOs but I see two more with source tags, Do I need to download them also?

    yes, I know i downloaded a bit old version, I didn't notice the others, Is there anyway I can update later without redownloading the ISOs?
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    No you won't need to the source ISOs to install. Just the two you downloaded should do it.

    Oops... missed the second part - I recommend fresh installs rather than upgrades.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Thanks, I didn't want to download all them since I have been downloading the two for six hours
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I'm pretty sure you could use something like Swaret or Slapt-get to upgrade (as I've done it in the past), but I've read lots of horror stories about people trying that, so I always recommend doing a fresh install rather than upgrade whenever possible.

    Slackware is lots of fun for me, so I hope you enjoy it, too.
    oz

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    I second what Ozar says. I tried to upgrade from 10.0 to 10.1 with Slapt-get once and it was a disaster. Better to burn the new version .ISOs and upgrade that way.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Is there so much difference between 10.0 and 10.1?
    Where can I get .tgz packages?
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    I don't use slapt or swaret

    but I never reinstall, its pointless, I've gone from 9.0 to 9.1, 10.0, 10.1, 10.2 in the past and never had a single problem.

    all of my machines will be upgraded to 11.0 the same way, using pats upgrade notes, and not slapts.

    in #slackware on freenode, they advise against slapt and swaret whenever possible, and definately for upgrading, I'm not suprised it didnt work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •