Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
guys here is the situation: 1. i downloaded openoffice from their site.. checked the md5sum; its matched. 2. converted ALL .rpm to .tgz 3. i have already installed all components ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    need assistance in OPENOFFCE for slackware


    guys here is the situation:

    1. i downloaded openoffice from their site.. checked the md5sum; its matched.

    2. converted ALL .rpm to .tgz

    3. i have already installed all components

    4. when i try to open the MENU UPDATING TOOL, openoffice was not there.

    5. i tried opening through CLI, here is the output:

    root@darkstar:~# /opt/openoffice.org2.0/program/soffice
    /opt/openoffice.org2.0/program/soffice.bin X11 error: Can't open display:
    Set DISPLAY environment variable, use -display option

    is the error in xorg.conf? (but i have not encountered this thing when i started KOFFICE and other apps)
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Hi, icedtea

    I'm not really sure what the problem might be with the current package but you can get a Slackware-ready .tgz package for OpenOffice 2.0.3 over at LinuxPackages.net:

    http://www.linuxpackages.net/pkg_details.php?id=7951

    Maybe it'll work where the other one won't - hope it helps.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    yes sir i also know that one.. BUT my friend used the package in the OO site.. and it was successfully installed . i have been browsing for similar case here in the forum.. I TRIED doing some related suggestions in xorg.conf BUT still.. same problem arise


    ADDITIONAL :i have run OO in USER but still in ROOT (messsage posted still appears)
    i cant run it by GUI. i have already installed the openoffice-freedesktop etc. any help?
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    why are you running any apps as root?

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    hmm i miscalculated it. i have run OO in USER. it opened. m now tweaking on how to add the ICONS on my menu.
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198

    Thread Solved

    i really miscalculated that apps should never be run using ROOT. . i have now tweaked my box and OO is now perfectly working for me. though i haven't tried making any documents yet
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2

    the same error message

    root or no root user,all gave me "/opt/openoffice.org2.0/program/soffice.bin X11 error: Can't open display:",why?how to solve?

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    198
    try re- installing OO
    P4 1.8, 1G DDR ram, 64mb GF2 MX400, 80G WD and 40G Maxtor, ECS mobo. Playing XP,Slack 12.0 and Vector Linux 5.8 GOLD, STD 6.0 Zenwalk 4.6.1, OpenBSD 3.9

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    Smile OOO from linuxpackages or zen mirrors

    icedtea,
    i agree with ozar, above. i have loaded OOO (and other apps) from linuxpackages for my slackbox 10, and my zen 2.8. i look there, first for slackpkg needs. the zen mirrors also have a prepackaged OOO made for your zenbox in current/extra. good stuff, like lame, xmms are found there, too
    regards,
    NS

  10. #10
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    I'm running 10.2 and the latest OpenOffice package from Linuxpackages.net works perfectly. If you suspect permission issues being the source of problems with an uncooperative app and want to run as root to see, as regular user:
    Code:
    kdesu /opt/openoffice.org2.0/program/soffice
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •