Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
i have a r/w ntfs. how do i replace the old one with this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    r/w ntfs


    i have a r/w ntfs. how do i replace the old one with this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by vegetakorps
    i have a r/w ntfs. how do i replace the old one with this?
    can you be a bit more clear ???

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    i have 2 operating systems. windows/slackware linux. i use ntfs under windows. the problem is that slackware installs read-only ntfs drivers. now i find on linux.softpedia.com this driver - ntfs-3g 20070714 Beta - and it is read/write ntfs and it's really working. now i need replace the old one with this from linux.softpedia. what can i do?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    Maybe you should umount the old one .To do that edit fstab
    Code:
    gedit /etc/fstab
    and delete ntfs line
    it looks like that
    Code:
    /dev/hda1        /ntfs-c          ntfs        ro               1   0
    reboot
    i hope that helps
    can you send me whole link please?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    7

    re

    http://mlf.linux.rulez.org/mlf/ezaz/...70811-BETA.tgz

    i changed /etc/fstab from:
    Code:
    /dev/hda4   /mnt/hda4   ntfs   ro   1   0
    to:
    Code:
    /dev/hda4   /mnt/hda4   ntfs-3g   ro   1   0
    and it is not working. i have to add fuse module to kernel by:
    Code:
    modprobe fuse
    do you know how to do this on startup before mounting ntfs?

  7. #6
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •