Find the answer to your Linux question:
dont know if this belongs here but Im running Slackware Hey. Im a bit new to linux. I have experimented with slackware before, thought I'd fire it up again, then ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with python site packages

dont know if this belongs here but Im running Slackware

Hey. Im a bit new to linux. I have experimented with slackware before, thought I'd fire it up again, then I discovered Cedega. I need to install DBus-Python as one thing to get it to work, but after downlaoding the file im completely stumped. I dont know how to start setup. There is a file called setup.py but I don't know how to execute it. I have python installed, so I tried python setup.py and it returns

bash-3.00# python setup.py
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "setup.py", line 9, in <module>
    from Pyrex.Distutils import build_ext
    ImportError: No module named Pyrex.Distutils

I don't know what this means, or where I can get the module "Pyrex.Distutils" and after installing it, how to get it to recognize it.

As I said, I am a bit new to Linux, and I hope someone can help walk me through this. Thanks in advance
    http://dbus.freedesktop.org/releases/dbus-0.91.tar.gz <- The tgz of DBus-Python

Just Joined!
    Here is the package I recently compiled. After the installation, restart udev or the computer, and then run /etc/rc.d/rc.messagebus.

Just Joined!
    Ehh..is that going to work? It should be DBus-Python, not just DBus, I also put the wrong link, this is the tar.gz of DBus-Python http://dbus.freedesktop.org/releases...on-0.71.tar.gz
    And could you point me to a guide of how to compile those?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Lotion
    Ehh..is that going to work? It should be DBus-Python, not just DBus, I also put the wrong link, this is the tar.gz of DBus-Python http://dbus.freedesktop.org/releases...on-0.71.tar.gz