Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hello everyone, back from a long silent time spent in darkness, - anyway last night i was trying to get hold of a few friends on xchat but it, strangely, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131

    xchat


    hello everyone,

    back from a long silent time spent in darkness, - anyway last night i was trying to get hold of a few friends on xchat but it, strangely, just would not connect - i know that maybe for this kind of help I should join the xchat-forums ... but i was wondering if anyone has ever experienced similar probs

    by the way, the port 6667 (which xchat usually use) is enabled/open on my router so i just dont get! what/where do i go wrong? this is the message that it gives while trying to connect:


    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: connection timed out
    cycling to next server in librenet
    Disconnected
    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: bad file descriptor
    cycling to next server..........
    disconnected
    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: network is unreachable
    cycling to next server..............
    disconnected
    .............
    ............
    ............
    and so on

    any ideas? all suggestions welcome
    If you get on the wrong train all the stations you will come to will be the wrong stations.
    Zen

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    doesnt seem you're online, or for some reason can't connect to irc anyway, does web browsing work?

    oh, you needn't worry about port 6667 on your firewall, thats port 6667 on their server, not your machine, you are connecting to port 6667 on their server, therefore they need it open on their firewall, not you.



    I'd check connectivity in the terminal by 'ping www.google.com' first.

    then work from there.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by operator
    hello everyone,

    back from a long silent time spent in darkness, - anyway last night i was trying to get hold of a few friends on xchat but it, strangely, just would not connect - i know that maybe for this kind of help I should join the xchat-forums ... but i was wondering if anyone has ever experienced similar probs

    by the way, the port 6667 (which xchat usually use) is enabled/open on my router so i just dont get! what/where do i go wrong? this is the message that it gives while trying to connect:


    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: connection timed out
    cycling to next server in librenet
    Disconnected
    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: bad file descriptor
    cycling to next server..........
    disconnected
    looking up irc.librenet.......
    connecting to irc.librenet..............
    connection failed. Error: network is unreachable
    cycling to next server..............
    disconnected
    .............
    ............
    ............
    and so on

    any ideas? all suggestions welcome
    But is it opened on your local machine? With an iptable rule from your machine to the outside?

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie stubbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    143
    I don't know anything about this port thingy, but I do reccomend instead of XChat, you should try Gaim. It can do IRC too.

  5. #5
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    478
    connection failed. Error: network is unreachable
    cycling to next server..............
    disconnected
    It might be that their server is down...Some servers don't use the 6667 port and it might be that your server does not. If it usually did then all I can think of is that your connection does not work or the server is offline.

    Best of luck

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131
    heyy guys
    it appears to be the /etc/resolv.conf file not to be set properly - i had to add a few lines with my ISP's ip-address as IRC doesnt translate router ip-addresses
    nameserver ip-address
    nameserver ip-address
    etc....

    it connected fine when I joined the server manually:
    #server 123.4.56.789
    #server 987.65.4.321
    etc...

    anyway i hope this was helpful toany of you just in case you happen to bump on the same wall,

    cheers
    If you get on the wrong train all the stations you will come to will be the wrong stations.
    Zen

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    131
    sorry me again,

    OK! i solved that problem but now I have got another one pretty unusual - I always consider myself as a newbie, cos i believe that we never stop learning but i had never come to sumthing like this - I edited /etc/resolv.conf adding a line with my main DNS server ip-address

    previous: /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1

    new /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    nameserver myDNS ip=address

    well, guess what? everytime I reboot/restart my system '/etc/resolv.conf' goes back to its previous 'single line' format, and i'm pretty sure that i saved the new file - i re-edited the file and SAVED it and still appears as a 'single line' file after i rebooted

    so, where do i go wrong now? why does it not get saved although I DID save it?

    thnx

    p.s.: i also run updatedb after i edited the file!
    If you get on the wrong train all the stations you will come to will be the wrong stations.
    Zen

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    its because of dhcpcd issuing a new resolv.conf based on dhcp lease.

    but. if you set it read only (non writable) I'd imagine it'll stop happening

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •