Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I just installed Slackware 10.2 yesterday. Everything went fine except one thing: i cant setup my ADSL connection whatever i do. I have searched for other posts in this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ADSL setup problem. I've read other posts.

Hi

I just installed Slackware 10.2 yesterday. Everything went fine except one thing: i cant setup my ADSL connection whatever i do. I have searched for other posts in this box and followed the instructions but it didnt work for me.

Firstly, id like to state that i have very little knowledge about this piece. In windows and SUSE, everything was automatically configured and i didnt have to do much.

This is what i did:
    1. # pppoe-setup
    2. Fill out those questions
    3. # pppoe-start

Everytime i tried i just ended up encountering the timed out error.

I really dont know what to do.

I guess my problem lies in step 2 right? Maybe i didnt fill in correct information. I have a few questions:
    a) The username it asks for, is it the one that i use to sign up or what other username?
    b) The IP addresses, what IP are they? Where can i get them? From the network card's manual or the router's manual or my ISP?
    c) The password, since it asked me to re-enter the password, is it some new password that i have to set up, or some old password from something?

Im sorry to disturb you guys with these retarded questions, but i really have nothing else to do.

O, btw, since i installed Slackware, i've had to set up my mouse, mouse wheel, monitor, VGA card, sound card, all manually. In windows and other Linux distros like SUSE or Fedora Core, everything was automattic. My question is: Why dont people make Slackware able to do these? Why do we have to configure everything by hand? What's the point of that? Im not pissed off, im just curios.

Thank u a lot, great guys