Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to linux. I just finished my first install-decided to go with Slackware 10.2. Someone posted some really good install instructions on bittender, which is the only reason I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Need help with mouse.....xorg.conf or what?

I'm new to linux. I just finished my first install-decided to go with Slackware 10.2. Someone posted some really good install instructions on bittender, which is the only reason I was able to do this install; for a windows user, setting up Slackware seems somewhat "alien". I installed on a Dell Inspiron 1100 laptop. Everythings working excellent except the mouse- I have a wireless microsoft usb mouse. In xorgconfig I chose "5" for microsoft mouse, and for the mouse device i chose the default /dev/mouse-"x" wouldn't start. then I tryed something completely stupid and went with /dev/usb for the mouse device. After hours of googling the problem I came across xorgsetup. I went through that and was able to start x. everything looks and works great except for the mouse, the pointer is shaking up and down slowly, and moving the mouse slows that down a bit but thats it- I have no control over it. I think I need to manually edit the mouse part of xorg.conf. I tryed pico and it says that it cannot find /etc/x11/xorg.conf. and mcedit says it cannot open the file, even though I'm in as root......Somebody please help me!!!!

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Run "xorgconfig" and choose intellimouse explorer (IMPS/2) as the protocol and leave the default mouse device as /dev/mouse.

you can also:
    when you get login propmt login as root.
    than type $mouseconfig and change it to IMPS/2

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close