Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey everybody here in the slackware linux comunity. I am a newbie to both slackware and linux, I chose slackware because from what I hear its fast and theres alot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual Booting

Hey everybody here in the slackware linux comunity.
    I am a newbie to both slackware and linux, I chose slackware because from what I hear its fast and theres alot to learn, I want to know as much as I can about linux and I want to be able to do stuff faster, and slackware seems to fit in both categorys.

I wish to Dual Boot linux with windows, incase I have to use windows to run programs that cant be run on linux, but I will mainly be using linux. I know that at the start, when the disk boots, Fdisk partions your drive and once its finished you must type "setup" in the console and the setup program will start.

Since I know very little of linux I find it hard to understand the installtion tutorials currently on the net and I would like someone here on the linux forums to explain me , step by step, how to install linux on my Intell core solo laptop.

Thanks in advance,
    - Heetlar

First install Windows and partition only what you need for the programs
    leave the rest of the space on the drive unallocated for linux.
    Second install linux use the unallocated partition for linux and follow the directions. After the installs are complete you will be able to boot ether windows or linux.

Quote Originally Posted by heetlar
    Hey everybody here in the slackware linux comunity.
    I am a newbie to both slackware and linux, I chose slackware because from what I hear its fast and theres alot to learn, I want to know as much as I can about linux and I want to be able to do stuff faster, and slackware seems to fit in both categorys.