Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hey guys, I've got an HP ZE1210 laptop that I want to run slackware on. After a successful install, I reboot the machine and I get this error: Hard disk ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5

    Boot Issues!


    Hey guys, I've got an HP ZE1210 laptop that I want to run slackware on. After a successful install, I reboot the machine and I get this error:

    Hard disk boot sector invalid
    Press 'H' to rety Hard Drisk, any other key for floppy.


    Pressing H gives the same error.

    So, I use the Slackware install disk and at the boot prompt I use the following command as it suggests:

    bare.i root=/dev/hda2 noinitrd ro

    It boots up, and I'm able to get into KDE from here. However, during boot I see a lot of "modprobe: Can't open dependencies file /lib/modules/2.4.31.modules.dep"

    I also see similiar errors when trying to rerun network scripts rc.inet1.

    So, my questions are:

    1: Is there a way to fix my boot problem?
    2: what does the boot option bare.i root=/dev/hda2 noinitrd ro mean exactly? And, is this whats causing the modprobe errors?

    Thanks in advance, i'll keep doing reasearch and hope for some help!

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    Some time before I've had a problem like this with a HP notebook. The solution follows ...


    >1: Is there a way to fix my boot problem?

    Yes! Install slack with more suitable kernel perhaps ?2.6?.(at the first screen F2, F3 keys ... ) instead of "bare.i" . At the end of the setup (chose kernel) choose this kernel.


    >:2 what does the boot option
    >bare.i root=/dev/hda2 noinitrd ro mean exactly? And, is this whats causing the modprobe errors?

    kernel to boot; root file system, i.e. where is it; not using init ram drive; read-only mount root file system (at the beginning). Modeprobe errors are becouse of missing root file system.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    Hi, I tried using the newer kernel with slack11 and I still get the same error!

    if I used test26.s root=/dev/hda2 noinitrd ro

    I can boot, but the CD has to be in. Is there any way to fix this? Is it a lilo issue?

  4. #4
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    Can you show us your /etc/lilo.conf file?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    Hi ddu_,

    > .....
    > if I used
    > test26.s root=/dev/hda2 noinitrd ro ....
    > ....

    Did you made the your setup (slack11) using "test26.s" kernel?
    I mind, booting your HP from the first slak_11 cd just using at the boot prompt (the one for the kernel and root file system) ONLY "test26.s" and then running setup?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    may be it would be best to see lilo.conf first

    is there another os on your machine ?

    when you prepare linux partitions before slack's setup which one you marked as bootable?

  7. #7
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    I think that lilo was not installed on the mbr, this is why he can, hence the following message:

    Hard disk boot sector invalid
    Press 'H' to rety Hard Drisk, any other key for floppy.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    is there in your lilo.conf something like:
    # Start LILO global section
    boot = /dev/hda
    ................................

    where /dev/hda is your linux bootable partition?
    is there another os on your pc (winXP or another linux distro)?
    why are you triyng to install lilo in mbr - this is not safe as i know

  9. #9
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    why are you triyng to install lilo in mbr - this is not safe as i know
    Where have you picked that false information? If he want to boot, he need a bootloader, and, not necessarily lilo, has to be installed on the mbr.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    51
    that is why I asked about another os on that computer especially windows - THE LORD OF MBR................

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •