Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux and to slackware. I could install Vector SOHO 5.1 but as I have only 128MB, memory I installed Fluxbox and ROX filer. Can some one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question slackware(Vector) Newbie problems

I am new to linux and to slackware.

I could install Vector SOHO 5.1 but as I have only 128MB, memory I installed Fluxbox and ROX filer.

Can some one help me in solving the following teething troubles?

1. While booting linux recognised that my disk supports UDMS 33MHZ but waits eternally at /dev/hda and reports dma time out and ide failure and moves on. This is repeated for every partition. disabling dma in bios is not helping (My desktop is fujitsu Ergopro x (1999) Pentium III. How can I make linux to skip these waits?

2. ROX filer is not recognising the normal ICONs. It is placing inverted triangles for all devices and files / programs. How to make it recognise the natural icons associated with programs.
    3. Fluxbox menu (right click on desktop) can shut down x server but can not shut down the machine. where is the problem?? I need to shut down from the log-in screen presented after shutting down the x server.

4.As I can not use KDE desktop with low memory, I want to make Fluxbox as default desktop for every user including the root, I can not find .xsession file ? what is the equivalent in slackware?

Thanks in Advance

Just Joined!
    I would recommend that if you have trouble with the X Window system, you check out 'xorgsetup' or 'xwdmconfig' (I believe that the things are, respectively, used for setting up the computer to work with X Window system and choosing a default X Window system thing, like fluxbox)