Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
Greetings! I have just installed Slackware 11 with default kernel 2.4, and i have Logitec wireless mouse and KB... Let me start with the install first: After booting the slackware ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162

    Red face Slackware 11 no usb mouse and keyboard


    Greetings!

    I have just installed Slackware 11 with default kernel 2.4, and i have Logitec wireless mouse and KB...

    Let me start with the install first: After booting the slackware DVD my KB works, but after hitting Enter when asking if i have other kekne; (sata.i root=/....)
    my keyboard stops responding... I have an old PS2 keyboard i continued the installation with it.

    I selected USB mouse and rebooted.... a get an error message: !Made changes!->
    Starting gpm: /usr/sbin/gpm -m /dev/mouse -t imps2
    O0o.oops (): [server_tools.c (76)]: could not open /dev/mouse
    o also tried ps2 and i dont get that error but there is still no mouse or keyboard
    pluged the old keyboard and tryed to config the Xconfig, i selected Auto mouse (i know that it wont help for the booting process but... )
    Rebooted and still nothing
    My keyboard and mouse are recognized by linux but it doesnt work at all

    Btw they work in Slackware 10.1
    Any suggestions?
    10x in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    upgrade to 2.6

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162

    another problem

    i upgareded to 2.6 but i have a stranege problem... it with Reinsfs file system and in the middle of the booting after detecting some of my hardware it goes realy balck, bearly visible and it hags. I tried clen new install with ext2 file system and the 2.4 works perfectly whith logo and everything and i downloaded 2.6.18.2 /latest stable/ conifg and reboot... now it hanges after cheking BIOS.

    I have Athlon64 X2 3800 BOX
    Nvidia GeForce MP 7300GT 256 ram /hdtv/dvi ...
    Nforce4 motheboard Asus

    i enable everything that i think i need for my hardware and still the same black screen. I also tried with a default 2.6 kernel - the same. Also tried loading a few needed drivers and still blank screen....

    What do i do wrong????

    btw: if i move my mouse during loading 2.4 kernel it detects it... funny... but my keyboard is not...

    Please help

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    why do you need to build your own 2.6 kernel..

    just use the one off cd2

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162

    Red face ooops

    i have the dvd, and i try to build it because i always build 2.6 kernel myself /i know - silly me / and it always worked and now its giving me a hard time i want to find out what's the problem but still no luck and i ran out of ideas...

    the other thing is that i never tried the kernel from the cd, and i'm a little embarissed to say that i dont knwo how to install it now after i did compiled my own /not working /

    I would be happy if u can tell me how to do it

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    its quite easy to upgrade to kernel 2.6, you just install the packages, and re-run lilo.

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162

    Unhappy another problem

    OK i installed kernel-generic-2.6.18 and the modules, changed lilo to boot from /boot/kernel-generic... i reboot and i login with 2.6 everything is allright.
    But when i tried to boot 2.4 kernel it boots the 2.6 kernel
    I changed my lilo to boot the 2.4 kernel from /arch/i386/boot/bzImage it was /boot/vmlinuz and still it loads 2.6 no mater which kernel i choose...

    The other thing is when i try to install my nVidia 7300GT, i do:
    chmod 700 ~/NVIDIA-........run
    ./NVIDIA.........run
    and it gives me an error:
    ERROR: Unable to find kernel source tree for the currently running kernel. Please make sure that you have installed the source files for your kernel and that they are properly configured; On Red Hat Linux systems, for example, be shure to have "kernel-source" or "kernel-devel" RPM installed. If you know the current kernel source files are installed, you may specify the kernel source path with "--kernel-source-path" command line option.


    Before installing 2.6. i tried to install nVidia on 2.4 and it was ok... now it says
    Fatal server error:
    Cought signal 8. Server aborting

    it's just not my lucky day....

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    /usr/src/linux points to the 2.4 kernel source still ,which is the wrong one.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie TrashOverride's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    @home...soon in your homes ;) /usr/src/bulgaria
    Posts
    162
    as far as i understand the install of the 2.6 kernel from the dvd rewrote my vmlinuz in my /boot dir, so now there is not an image to load for my 2.4 kernel.

    I load the config file of the preconfig kernle and it had more options than the one i have unziped.
    I tried to use it and to build my one kernel with the kernel that i have unziped, and i still have a blank screen...

    I still dont know why when i load the precompiled kernel and lunch the nVidia installer it says:
    ERROR: Unable to find kernel source tree for the currently running kernel. Please make sure that you have installed the source files for your kernel and that they are properly configured; On Red Hat Linux systems, for example, be shure to have "kernel-source" or "kernel-devel" RPM installed. If you know the current kernel source files are installed, you may specify the kernel source path with "--kernel-source-path" command line option.

    any suggestions?

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    you've got the wrong kernel source installed for the binary kernel you are running

    this is why the nvidia installer complains

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •