Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Folks There's no point trying to conceal it - I'm a Linux newbie and what is worse a Windows Migrant . So make allowances chaps. Slackware is the fifth ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Me, Slackware 11.0 and my almost working usb adsl modem

Hi Folks
    There's no point trying to conceal it - I'm a Linux newbie and what is worse a Windows Migrant. So make allowances chaps.

Slackware is the fifth distro I've trialled in a month and technically the most challenging. The biggest bugbear I've had in all the Linux distros with the possible exception of Xandros is installing the eagle usb driver and configuring the Sagem Fast 800 usb adsl modem. In Slackware 11.0 it's taken a day or so of my life to get so close to an internet connection I can almost taste it. But now I'm desperate and may give up on Slack altogether. Here are the gory details:

Installed slack with 2.6.17.13 Kernel that comes with a ueagle-atm driver (hurrah) but as with several other distros with the 2.6 no firmware installed. So I create a ueagle-atm firmware folder in /lib/firmware and reboot. At this point the modem lights blink encouragingly and both come on at boot up -- the modem is initialised and operational. So next I set up the /etc/ppp/peers ueagle-atm file with the usuall pppd stuff - user, plugins, usepeerdns etc. etc. . Then I add my user name and password to the chaps and pap secrets (decided to stick 'em in both to be sure).

Now I run dmesg|grep eagle to make sure modem is operational and then modprobe ueagle-atm and then pppd call ueagle-atm. All is fine. So I run ifconfig and yes there is a ppp0 interface - the connection has been established with the ISP (Tiscali, UK). But alas my browsers go nowhere. So then I run:

mv /etc/resolv.conf /etc/resolv.conf.old

and

ln -s /var/run/ppp/resov.conf /etc/resolv.conf