Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I've been having problems with plaing videos in Xine on my machine. I ran xine-check and it came up with this.. Code: [ hint ] Your X server doesn't support ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    xine playback problems


    I've been having problems with plaing videos in Xine on my machine.

    I ran xine-check and it came up with this..

    Code:
    [ hint ] Your X server doesn't support YV12 overlays.
             That means xine will have to do color space transformation and scaling
             in software, which is quite CPU intensive. Maybe upgrading your
             X server will help here.
             If you have an ATI card, you'll find accelerated X servers on
             http://www.linuxvideo.org/gatos/
             press <enter> to continue...
    
    [ hint ] Your X server doesn't support YV12 overlays.
             That means xine will have to do color space transformation and scaling
             in software, which is quite CPU intensive. Maybe upgrading your
             X server will help here.
             If you have an ATI card, you'll find accelerated X servers on
             http://www.linuxvideo.org/gatos/
             press <enter> to continue...
    
    [ hint ] Your X server doesn't have any XVideo support...
             XVideo is an X server extension introduced by XFree86 4.x. This
             extension provides access to hardware accelerated color space
             conversion and scaling, which gives a great performance boost.
             If you have a fast (>1GHz) machine, you may be able to watch all
             kinds of video, anyway. You will waste lots of CPU cycles, though...
             press <enter> to continue...
    I have the most current version of X11 and I do have XVideo on the machine so I figure this is a simple comfiguration problem. So what do I need to change?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    38
    What messages do you get if you run xine from a terminal.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    no error messages in the terminal. But when I'm playing a video, it's very choppy and I get this message popup.

    "The amount of dropped frame is too high, your system may be slow, not proporly optimized, or just overloaded.

    http://xinehq.de/index.php/#faq#SPEEDUP"

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    most likely it is your video driver you have selected for X

    can you post

    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep -i driver

    and (as root or sudo)

    lspci | grep -i vga

    and

    uname -a
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    here you go...
    Code:
    xxxxx@oemnetwork:~$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep -i driver
    # driver instead of the fbdev driver.  Thanks to Kenneth Fanyo who pointed
    # With the new driver, it should no longer be required to have frame buffer
    # the driver supports it.
        Driver      "kbd"
    # Identifier and driver
        Driver      "mouse"
    #    Driver     "magellan"
    #    Driver     "spaceorb"
    #    Driver     "microtouch"
    #    Driver     "elo2300"
        Driver      "vesa"
    
    xxxxx@oemnetwork:~$ su
    Password:
    
    root@oemnetwork:/home/xxxxx# lspci | grep -i vga
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. ProSavage KM133 (rev 03)
    
    root@oemnetwork:/home/xxxxx# uname -a
    Linux oemnetwork 2.4.33.3 #1 Fri Sep 1 01:48:52 CDT 2006 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux
    
    root@oemnetwork:/home/xxxxx#

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    instead of using "vesa" driver try out "savage" and see if that helps. You can change driver by editing the xorg.conf file with a text editor such as nano, vim, or emacs. After you change driver restart X server.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •