Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 2 of 2
hello everybody, Im a newbie and decided to try linux,i just installed Slackware 11 KDE desktop kernel 2.6.18, i have a dsl connection and would like to use dchp so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Slackware 11 /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1:line1:eth_up: command not found


    hello everybody,

    Im a newbie and decided to try linux,i just installed Slackware 11 KDE desktop kernel 2.6.18, i have a dsl connection and would like to use dchp so i went and configure ifconfig but i was unable to connect the internet and i get this messages at boot.

    /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1:line1:eth_up: command not found

    im using a CNET PRO200 FAST ETHERNET ADAPTER for the lan card, im also providing you guys extra info about my computer;

    ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:08:A1:1D:08:0B
    inet6 addr: fe80::208:a1ff:fe1d:80b/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1695 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:23 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:129644 (126.6 KiB) TX bytes:5752 (5.6 KiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xcc00

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    lsmod

    Module Size Used by
    i82365 23008 1
    snd_seq_dummy 2948 0
    snd_seq_oss 29056 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 6016 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 43856 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device 6540 3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    snd_pcm_oss 42144 0
    snd_mixer_oss 14976 1 snd_pcm_oss
    ipv6 225248 12
    sg 26780 0
    pcmcia 30372 0
    yenta_socket 24204 0
    rsrc_nonstatic 10880 2 i82365,yenta_socket
    pcmcia_core 34064 4 i82365,pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
    capability 3464 0
    commoncap 5504 1 capability
    lp 9928 0
    parport_pc 24260 1
    parport 30152 2 lp,parport_pc
    snd_intel8x0 28572 2
    snd_ac97_codec 86944 1 snd_intel8x0
    snd_ac97_bus 2176 1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_pcm 67720 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
    snd_timer 19460 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd 42724 13 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd _mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd _timer
    evdev 8192 0
    soundcore 7264 1 snd
    snd_page_alloc 7816 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
    sis_agp 6148 1
    agpgart 28208 1 sis_agp
    i2c_sis96x 4868 0
    shpchp 33052 0
    psmouse 35464 0
    serio_raw 5380 0
    tulip 46368 0
    pcspkr 2560 0


    lspci

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 645xx (rev 50)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS AGP Port (virtual PCI-to-PCI bridge)
    00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS963 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 25)
    00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller
    00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE]
    00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC'97 Sound Controller (rev a0)
    00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)
    00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.0 Controller (rev 0f)
    00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller
    00:07.0 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k HSFi Modem (rev 01)
    00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Davicom Semiconductor, Inc. 21x4x DEC-Tulip compatible 10/100 Ethernet (rev 40)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller:

    I hope this would be helpfull and thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    This appears to be a configuration issue. If you hav'nt already I'd run netconfig again. The error you are getting from rc.inet1 suggests you might have missed something in the configuration.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •