Find the answer to your Linux question:
Will slackware be enough to set up a web hosting company? If not what other linux distributions can I use if I plan to run a hosting company using linux. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation will slackware be good enough to set up a web hosting company?

Will slackware be enough to set up a web hosting company? If not what other linux distributions can I use if I plan to run a hosting company using linux. Still a newbie here. Thanks. Hope to get answers.

I'd say no because you are still a noob. RH EL, CentOS, or SuSE ES is your best bet.

oz
    forum.guy
    Slackware is about as solid as distros get in my opinion, so if you are up to running it you should be fine.

Some beginners make out great with it, while others find it overly complex for them. The truth of the matter is, Slackware is not complex but is a very simple distro. It's the manual configuration that gets in the way of many beginners.
    oz

Solid in some ways I guess, however I was a bit pisst off when default slack 11 samba crashed and took hold of my nic and woudln't let go on a pretty run of the mill P4 machine in the office. Couldn't even rmmod -f.

Slackware is simple but I find it is a bit unorganized in some ways, and the fact that you need to install swaret to get dep checking for package management is way too involved for a newb web admin.

ok enough of the newb comments. i am new in Linux and i managed to setup a Slackware desktop just fine. the web server will run just fine just keep in mind of the server setup to handle more load as a host for other websites but as far as setup i don't believe Slackware to be that much more difficult that it cant be done.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557