Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Just updated my kernel from 2.4.33 to 2.6.17 and in doing so I lost my internet connection, so I went into network in KDE and tried to get eth0 back ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166

    KDE or Kernel?


    Just updated my kernel from 2.4.33 to 2.6.17 and in doing so I lost my internet connection, so I went into network in KDE and tried to get eth0 back up, Went to use network manager and I get a popup that my system is not supported and I should choose one of the distros that would fit my need? I know I'm not to clear on this, but it amounts to me not able to get an internet connection in KDE.
    I had a good connection on the previous kernel. Help.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Your problem is related to the kernel modules and not to kde
    what kind of network card do you have?
    how you update your kernel?
    maybe there is a missing module to your network card in the new kernel but a new version of the kernel contains new hardware support so it's not enabled in the new kernel.

    please give me some more information to see how can i help you

  3. #3
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166
    Right now I'm in the 2.4.33 kernel and using my Firefox 1.5.07 browser and it works just fine, Howerver when i use my updated 2.6.17 kernel I can't seem to get connected to my browser, Here are the details of my /boot and my lsmod.
    frank@sorannos:~$ ls /boot
    README.initrd@ initrd.gz
    System.map@ kernel-generic-2.6.17.13-i486-1.tgz
    System.map-generic-2.6.17.13 kernel-headers-smp-2.6.17.13-i386-3.tgz
    System.map-ide-2.4.33.3 kernel-modules-2.6.17.13-i486-1.tgz
    config@ kernel-source-2.6.17.13-noarch-1.tgz
    config-generic-2.6.17.13 mkinitrd-1.0.1-i486-3.tgz
    config-ide-2.4.33.3 vmlinuz@
    diag1.img vmlinuz-generic-2.6.17.13
    initrd-tree/ vmlinuz-ide-2.4.33.3
    frank@sorannos:~$
    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    snd-seq-oss 23104 0 (unused)
    snd-seq-midi-event 3208 0 [snd-seq-oss]
    snd-seq 33552 2 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event]
    snd-pcm-oss 28928 0 (unused)
    snd-mixer-oss 11928 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
    parport_pc 14692 1 (autoclean)
    lp 6372 0 (autoclean)
    parport 22472 1 (autoclean) [parport_pc lp]
    printer 7520 0
    usbkbd 2936 0 (unused)
    keybdev 1828 0 (unused)
    mousedev 4244 1
    hid 21380 0 (unused)
    usbmouse 1912 0 (unused)
    input 3104 0 [usbkbd keybdev mousedev hid usbmouse]
    usb-ohci 18856 0 (unused)
    usbcore 56812 1 [printer usbkbd hid usbmouse usb-ohci]
    forcedeth 15312 0 (unused)
    r8169 8876 1
    crc32 2880 0 [r8169]
    snd-cmipci 18208 0
    gameport 1388 0 [snd-cmipci]
    snd-pcm 52804 0 [snd-pcm-oss snd-cmipci]
    snd-opl3-lib 5636 0 [snd-cmipci]
    snd-hwdep 4156 0 [snd-opl3-lib]
    snd-timer 13168 0 [snd-seq snd-pcm snd-opl3-lib]
    snd-mpu401-uart 3120 0 [snd-cmipci]
    snd-rawmidi 12224 0 [snd-mpu401-uart]
    snd-seq-device 3716 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq snd-opl3-lib snd-rawmidi]
    snd 34304 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq-midi-event snd-seq snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-cmipci snd-pcm snd-opl3-lib snd-hwdep snd-timer snd-mpu401-uart snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device]
    soundcore 3300 7 [snd]
    snd-page-alloc 4980 0 [snd-seq-oss snd-seq snd-mixer-oss snd-pcm snd-hwdep snd-timer snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device snd]
    pcmcia_core 39492 0
    ide-scsi 9392 0

    Can't seem to get connected with ntework settings in 2.6.17.

    Edit: Just installed Dropline gnome and all is working, Only problem I have is screen resolution is only 1024x768 and if i reconfigure /etc/X11/xorg.conf for a higher resolution it wont let me boot in the desktop, until i set it back to 1024x768?
    strange.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    With the kernels 2.6.x series you should enable the rc.udev so go to /etc/rc.d/ and do chmod +x rc.udev.
    I'm still confused are you able to connect to the internet when you run kernel2.6.17?

    about the xorg configuration if your screen support higher than that so you can raise the resolution,and you should know the vertical and horizonta refresh rate of your screen (tell me if xorg know your vga card)

    hope this help

  5. #5
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166
    Hi Aliov,
    Thanks for helping, Yes it's a vga,
    03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44 [GeForce 6200 LE] (rev a1)
    I have a Hanns-G JW199D 19"wide screen monitor, I tried to find the horizontal & vertical specs, but I can't find them.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Did you try to install the Nvidia driver from their site ?
    for the refresh rate: maybe you can have a look on Windows(if you have one).but in any case did you try to reconfigure the X server at all typing
    xorgconfig
    try it and keep a back up file for the xorg.conf

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by fvs
    Hi Aliov,
    Thanks for helping, Yes it's a vga,
    03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV44 [GeForce 6200 LE] (rev a1)
    I have a Hanns-G JW199D 19"wide screen monitor, I tried to find the horizontal & vertical specs, but I can't find them.
    I had the same problem with my laptop in that I couldn't get the right rates either .. one trick I found is I booted to an Ubuntu live CD and it detected the right rates for me so give that a try.

    Quick search on the net shows that your native resolution is 1280x1024.

    Make sure you install the drivers from nvidia.

  8. #8
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166
    This is my configuration, If I change it I can't log into dropline gnome, However I can login to KDE, can't figure it out? Dropline resolution is "1024x768" Refresh 61, KDE "1280x1024" Refresh 76.
    Can't get 1280x1024 refresh 76 in dropline? Same system
    USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    HorizSync 30-50.0

    # HorizSync 30-64 # multisync
    # HorizSync 31.5, 35.2 # multiple fixed sync frequencies
    # HorizSync 15-25, 30-50 # multiple ranges of sync frequencies

    # VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
    # VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
    # comma separated list of ranges of values.
    # NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY. REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
    # USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.

    VertRefresh 40-90


    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 32
    Modes "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    BTW 1440x900 is the default for my monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •