Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Why don't you try something other than slackware? something a bit more noob friendly? Its hardly fun spoon feeding someone every step of the way because they are too lazy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668

    Why don't you try something other than slackware? something a bit more noob friendly?

    Its hardly fun spoon feeding someone every step of the way because they are too lazy to learn how to do it.

    why don't you try ubuntu?

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie jweekley1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    145
    Check this post from another forum
    http://www.linuxquestions.org/hcl/sh...t=1069&cat=122

  3. #13
    Just Joined! volomir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    20
    hello mate

    it doesn't show the eth0 card because it hasn't loaded the driver for your network card

    please post here the output of
    lspci

    so that i can see what network card you have

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined! Carlwatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    99
    I think "kern" is right, it's not very fun if you have to tell me every little thing to do, however I don't realy know how to START learning, besides just asking questions on this site, should I get a book on Slackware? But I think I will swhich to Kubuntu. However if you still want to try and help me "Volomir" or any one else, here is what lspci said about my card "00:14.0 3Com Corporation 3c905C - TX/TX-M [Tornado] ( rev 78 )".

    C@RL

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    www.slackbook.org

    its a good read.

  7. #16
    Just Joined! volomir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    romania
    Posts
    20
    modprobe 3c905c

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    or uncomment the line in /etc/rc.d/rc.modules that says 3c905c

  9. #18
    Just Joined! Carlwatkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    99
    I tried it and it said there was an error trying to find module 3c905c. So don't realy know why but thats what it said when I typed it in and at boot time after I changed rc.modules.

    C@RL

  10. #19
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    668
    your kernel modules are not installed or they are the wrong ones.

    ls /var/log/packages/*module*



    ubuntu?

  11. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    42
    Check in your modules kernel ...
    Code:
    # modprobe -l | grep -i 3c905c
    If there is a module shown, this module is ready to use... If not ... u'need to recompile u're kernel or installed driver of u're nic only...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •