Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello, I am having a problem where evertime i mount my cdrom it mounts my dvd instead. If I mount the dvd it works fine. Its just when I mount ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! ouellettesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47

    Fix Symlink Cdrom DVD


    Hello, I am having a problem where evertime i mount my cdrom it mounts my dvd instead. If I mount the dvd it works fine. Its just when I mount the cd it always says its busy if there is something in the dvd drive. and I can see the contents of the dvd through the cdrom. I was told I have a symlink problem. Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Quote Originally Posted by ouellettesr
    I can see the contents of the dvd through the cdrom .
    You can see this content of your DVD from the /mnt/cdrom directory ,i don't remember now can you check the content of your fstab
    /dev/dvd /mnt/cdrom , if it like this so cdrom directory supposed to read the dvd device ,one other idea go to /dev/ and see if something like
    cdrom -> dvd (symlink) .
    try also to unmount the dvd and the cdrom and after mount your cdrom when there is no dvd inside the dvd rom (your dvd is RW).

    tell me about any news

    hope this help

  3. #3
    Just Joined! ouellettesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47
    I have tried just about every possible way mount and umount the devices. Through command line and in KDE. If I am at the command line, i type mount /dev/cdrom, it mounts the dvd. If i then type mount dvd it says its already mounted.

    Here is fstab:

    Code:
    /dev/hda1        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
    /dev/hda2        /                reiserfs    defaults         1   1
    /dev/hda3        /usr             reiserfs    defaults         1   2
    /dev/hda4        /home            reiserfs    defaults         1   2
    /dev/dvd         /mnt/dvd         auto        noauto,users,ro  0   0
    /dev/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom       auto        noauto,users,rw  0   0
    /dev/sda1        /mnt/flash       vfat        noauto,users,rw,exec,umask=000  0   0
    /dev/fd0         /mnt/floppy      auto        noauto,owner     0   0
    devpts           /dev/pts         devpts      gid=5,mode=620   0   0
    proc             /proc            proc        defaults         0   0
    if I go to /dev/ i dont see anything that says symlink or anything, but if i click on the properties of dvd, and cdrom, they both point to /dev/hdc

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    try to find something called /dev/hdb should be the cdrom drive (hdx x related to the hardware master or slave position) find out and change your fstab as that.

    hope this help

  5. #5
    Just Joined! ouellettesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47
    I tried changing the /dev/dvd and /dev/cdrom to /dev/hdc and /dev/hdc1, /dev/hdb, /dev/hdb1, and i set one to /dev/hdb, and one to /dev/hdc.

    Every combination not working.






    --------EDIT--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Problem solved on another forum, here is the link:

    http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...91#post2645991

    Thanks aloiv for your help.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Sorry but i don't understand how you solve it with just a symlinc and when you put the inicial device name in your fstab it dosen't work? a symlinc is just to say the following name point to another for example.
    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom default 0 0
    and under /dev you have cdrom-->hdb, so if you put in your fstab file hdb instead of cdrom should works,or if the symlinc dosen't exist yet you can create it.

  7. #7
    Just Joined! ouellettesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47
    I understand what you were saying, and I even tried to replace, /cdrom with /hdb or /hdd, but it did not work for me.
    I did notice however that if I clicked on properties of both of them in Konqueror they both said they pointed to /hdc.

    I had to reboot before the new symlinks worked.

    I did NOT reboot after i edited the fstab. Maybe that was my problem. I will try it to se if it works, I would like to know as well.

  8. #8
    Just Joined! ouellettesr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    47
    You were right aloiv, all i needed to do was edit fstab. No reboot required.

    I think the problem was that I had bad symlinks to start with, and all I needed to do was remove them, then edit the fstab.

    Here is what fstab looks like now:

    Code:
    /dev/hda1        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
    /dev/hda2        /                reiserfs    defaults         1   1
    /dev/hda3        /usr             reiserfs    defaults         1   2
    /dev/hda4        /home            reiserfs    defaults         1   2
    /dev/hdc      /mnt/dvd         auto        noauto,users,ro  0   0
    /dev/hdd    /mnt/cdrom       auto        noauto,users,rw  0   0
    /dev/sda1        /mnt/flash       vfat        noauto,users,rw,exec,umask=000  0   0
    /dev/fd0         /mnt/floppy      auto        noauto,owner     0   0
    devpts           /dev/pts         devpts      gid=5,mode=620   0   0
    proc             /proc            proc        defaults         0   0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •