Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi! New to this forum, hope i can get some help. I just installed Slackware 11.0. I made a full install and set up everything. But after the install and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    X11 problem with my new slack install


    Hi!

    New to this forum, hope i can get some help.
    I just installed Slackware 11.0. I made a full install and set up everything.
    But after the install and i boot the system the KDE won't start by itself, just command login. (maybe it is standard, i don't know).
    Anyway, i log in as root and try to start KDE with startkde.
    The thing that happens is:
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    startkde: Starting up...
    startkde: Running kpersonalizer
    kwin: connot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server

    and the last line just loops.
    What am i suposed to do?
    Why dosen't Tux come out and play with me?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    But after the install and i boot the system the KDE won't start by itself, just command login. (maybe it is standard, i don't know).
    It's standard, init 3 is the default in Slackware.
    Anyway, i log in as root and try to start KDE with startkde.
    The thing that happens is:
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xset: unable to open display ""
    xsetroot: unable to open display ''
    startkde: Starting up...
    startkde: Running kpersonalizer
    kwin: connot connect to X server
    kpersonalizer: cannot connect to X server

    and the last line just loops.
    What am i suposed to do?
    Why dosen't Tux come out and play with me?
    You don't use startkde like that, you must start it through startx editing .xinitrc on your home directory. The easy and best way to get to the graphical interface is typing as root init 5, this will bring KDM and you can login with your user name
    You can also edit /etc/inittab and change the default run level to 5 and get a graphical interface always
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    first have you tried startx to load gui?

    later responders will ask to see your xorg.conf file so you might want to try finding a way to post it.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo
    It's standard, init 3 is the default in Slackware.

    You don't use startkde like that, you must start it through startx editing .xinitrc on your home directory. The easy and best way to get to the graphical interface is typing as root init 5, this will bring KDM and you can login with your user name
    You can also edit /etc/inittab and change the default run level to 5 and get a graphical interface always
    Okey, firt, i can't find .xinitrc in my home dir.
    I did type init 5 as root, nothing changed. Still just command-line.
    I also changed /etc/inittab to run level 5 but nothing...

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    You need to create .xinitrc and add inside

    exec startkde

    then just startx

    EDIT: I think you may need to run xorgconfig before or maybe xf86config
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Unless there is something out of the ordinary going on there you only need to type in startx. Carlosponti asked you about this but you didn't answer so perhaps you did not try that yet?
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Delray Beach, FL
    Posts
    8
    try to type X -configure or xorgconf then pick your default x envrmnt by typing xwmconf (xwmconfig dont remember which one it was) and then startx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •