Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I recently installed Slackware 11 on my desktop. When I try to set up the network or do anything related to my ethernet port, nothing comes up. For example, ifconfig ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23

    Internet problems with slackware


    I recently installed Slackware 11 on my desktop. When I try to set up the network or do anything related to my ethernet port, nothing comes up. For example, ifconfig will only bring up a lp and not my two ethernet ports. However, lspci detects both of my ethernet ports. How do I got about solving this.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    get to a command prompt and type netconfig this goes through finding your card and getting it working. if you want to can set it up to use dhcp which will be easier at first to make sure you dont have any other problems.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    I'm really new at this, so I'm not sure if I used netconfig correctly. However, going through netconfig I didn't gain the internet.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    try dhcpcd on the command line. sometimes it doesn't get loaded at first
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    23
    nothing happened

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast carlosponti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    560
    did you type ifconfig after you typed dhcpcd? dhcpcd command starts the dhcp dameon.
    Blog
    Registered Linux user 396557

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1
    first of all,you have network card(connected to a free pci port) or your ethernet port is from your motherboard(common asus m/b)?
    if you have don't have network card,you should find and download the appropiate module(etc for me ,wich i have,asus motherboard with ethernet port i find the module in asus web-site,get description from windwos--> device manager,it would be much more easy).
    install module and then:
    as root:
    1)modprobe e100
    2)ifconfig eth0 <IP address> (assign a IP to your eth0)
    3)route add default gw <IP of your gateway>
    edit /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf
    fill up the section IP ADDRESS,Gateway adress with the upon values
    restart x ....and you are ok!!!!!
    if now,you have network card ,slackware should "see" and the only think that you have to do is step,1) 2) 3) as upon.......
    have a good serfing - downloading ....

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Plant City,FL
    Posts
    55
    Step one: do lspci and post the output.

    Step two: do lsmod and post the output.

    Let's see just what we're trying to work with here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •