Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I just installed madwifi, but now I'm stuck. I don't know what to do after this. I can see ath0, but I'm not sure what actions to do once this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4

    Slackware Wireless


    I just installed madwifi, but now I'm stuck. I don't know what to do after this.

    I can see ath0, but I'm not sure what actions to do once this step has been completed.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    - You need to bring up the interface
    - Scan for networks
    - Connect to one, setting the SSID
    - Authenticate yourself against the network (if any)
    - Set an IP or use DHCP

    Check this http://madwifi.org/wiki/UserDocs/FirstTimeHowTo
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    When running dhclien ath0, i got
    ath0: not found

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    ignore my previous post

    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode sta

    at that step i get this error:

    wlanconfig ioctl: Input/output error

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    You said you can see ath0, this is not the case.

    Have you installed madwifi yet?
    Did you load the module?
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    I can I can see ath0, however, that is the extent of it. I can also use iwlist scanning to see other wireless networks. I just can't get dhcpd ath0 to work.


    I believe I have loaded the module, the module being module ath_pci, correct? Also, whenever I run dhclien, it puts out the error that it can not find ath0. I however can see it as stated before.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •