Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi! I am a complete newbie as far as Linux is concerned – been using Windows ever since my introduction to computers 10 years ago. Last week I was introduced ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installation Problems

Hi! I am a complete newbie as far as Linux is concerned – been using Windows ever since my introduction to computers 10 years ago. Last week I was introduced to Linux by one of my friends, read up a bit and downloaded three distributions that interested me, namely Fedora7, Debian 4 and Slackware 11 (DVD ISO’s). I bought a 160 GB SATA Hard Disk to facilitate these new operating systems on my computer. I started with the installation of Slackware and seem to have hit a brick-wall

My Hardware:
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo 1.86
    Main-board: Intel DG965RY
    Memory: 2GB DDR2 RAM
    Hard Drive1: Seagate 160 GB SATA HDD ST3160211AS (Windows) Installed on SATA PORT 1
    Hard Drive2: Seagate 160 GB SATA HDD ST3160211AS (New) Installed on SATA PORT 3
    DVD: LG DVD-RW
    Floppy: No floppy drive present
    I first loaded in my Windows XP Disc and created four (RAW) partitions of approximately 40 GB each. I then booted up my computer using the Slackware DVD. My first problems were in loading the right kernel. The default kernel sata.i didn’t help me as ‘fdisk’ couldn’t open the drive. After a lot of trial and error which involved a lot of reboots I loaded the kernel test26.s through which fdisk could be used.