Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I am trying to configure my rc.inet1.conf file for 3 NICs. Two of the NICs use a different BROADCAST and GATEWAY. I am posting my rc.inet1.conf file below. Are the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Atlantic City, NJ
    Posts
    6

    rc.inet1.conf, multiple ip, multiple gateway


    I am trying to configure my rc.inet1.conf file for 3 NICs. Two of the NICs use a different BROADCAST and GATEWAY. I am posting my rc.inet1.conf file below. Are the GATEWAY and BROADCAST command valid? I'm not able to connect on the 10.20.2 network.

    Thanks in advance,
    J

    # Config information for eth0:
    IPADDR[0]="172.26.119.206"
    NETMASK[0]="255.255.255.0"
    BROADCAST[0]="172.26.119.255"
    NETWORK[0]="172.26.119.0"
    GATEWAY[0]="172.26.119.1"
    USE_DHCP[0]="no"
    DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""

    # Config information for eth1:
    IPADDR[1]="10.20.2.98"
    NETMASK[1]="255.255.255.0"
    NETWORK[1]="10.20.2.0"
    BROADCAST[1]="10.20.2.255"
    GATEWAY[1]="10.20.2.1"
    USE_DHCP[1]="no"
    DHCP_HOSTNAME[1]=""

    # Config information for eth2:
    IPADDR[2]="10.20.2.99"
    NETMASK[2]="255.255.255.0"
    NETWORK[2]="10.20.2.0"
    BROADCAST[2]="10.20.2.255"
    GATEWAY[2]="10.20.2.1"
    USE_DHCP[2]="no"
    DHCP_HOSTNAME[2]=""

    # Config information for eth3:
    IPADDR[3]=""
    NETMASK[3]=""
    USE_DHCP[3]=""
    DHCP_HOSTNAME[3]=""

    # Default gateway IP address:
    GATEWAY=""

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Yes the BroadCast and the Gateway are ok, but have you make the rc.inet1.conf executable ? if not chmod +x rc.inet1.conf
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Atlantic City, NJ
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by aliov View Post
    Yes the BroadCast and the Gateway are ok, but have you make the rc.inet1.conf executable ? if not chmod +x rc.inet1.conf
    I made the file executable, then rebooted, but I still can't ping anything on the 10.20.2.0 network. I can ping and ssh on the 172.26.119.0 network with no problems.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Can you ping 172.26.119.206 ? also check the name of the network interface by ifconfig.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Atlantic City, NJ
    Posts
    6
    Yep, everything looks good there.

    I really think it was something to do with the gateways not being set correctly. It's almost like it's not reading that line in my file.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    yes but if your network device is eth0 so these
    # Config information for eth0:
    IPADDR[0]="172.26.119.206"
    NETMASK[0]="255.255.255.0"
    BROADCAST[0]="172.26.119.255"
    NETWORK[0]="172.26.119.0"
    GATEWAY[0]="172.26.119.1"
    USE_DHCP[0]="no"
    DHCP_HOSTNAME[0]=""

    configure it and there is nothing related to 10.20.2.x ip inside try to swap the configuration between the eth1 and eth0 just to be sure that what i'm saying is true.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Atlantic City, NJ
    Posts
    6
    Everything is working now!

    I don't know why, but I was able to access BOTH subnets when I took out the GATEWAY definitions. I thought I would need to define them. As far as I know, I have not defined them anywhere.

    Thanks for the help. I just wanted to let you know this was resolved.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Ok, congratulations , i was more or less confused why it won't work since your configuration file is ok .

    Cheers.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •