Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
So I am new to Linux but I can catch on fast. The problem is sometimes i read too deeply into things, so if I dont understand exactly how or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to linux, not to computers

So I am new to Linux but I can catch on fast. The problem is sometimes i read too deeply into things, so if I dont understand exactly how or why something works sometimes i have problems. I am planning on using Linux because I have heard it is slightly advantageous for programming, and I do a lot of Java and C++ application/web programming for fun. I will still keep WinXP, because of my TV/FM tuner card, and all the programs that i use (mathematica, matlab, adobe/macromedia creative suite, etc). Also, since in college i will be doing Biochemistry and Neuroscience research, Linux has optimized computational calculations of this sort that are necessary.

So here are my questions which seem very 'noobish'. I have read and read and read and done nothing. LOL....
    I am planning on installing Slackware 11 on my computer. I know my hardware well (built my computer) so I dont forsee having any problems getting hardware to work, other than the wireless card. I have WinXP installed on my 160GB IDE HD. When I installed it it only found 137GB of space in the whole HD. So I thought I could install Linux on the unpartitioned space. I went into GParted and saw 20GB of unallocated space, made my root swap and boot, then booted from SlackwareCD. It didnt find anything, no HD's nothing. fdisk and cfdisk failed, and lspci did not show a hd....its recognized in GParted as sda1, sda2, etc...
    Then when i boot back to windows i get BSOD (unmountable boot volume?) wtf? i left extra unallocated space so why couldn't it mount? anyway i deleted the new partitions in the unallocated space and winXP works fine.