Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Just install debian etch on hd1 with Slackware 12 on hd3 which I already had running with lilo bootloader, I selected Grub on debian to use for bootload, Now debian ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166

    Booting Slack 12.0


    Just install debian etch on hd1 with Slackware 12 on hd3 which I already had running with lilo bootloader, I selected Grub on debian to use for bootload, Now debian grub has 4 titles slackware /hd3 for booting and I tried to boot from the first one and got kernel panic.
    Looked into grub menu and found that each of the slackware hd3 have different kernel /boot/vmlinuz. Ok which kernel is the right one?

    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
    # linux installation on /dev/hda3.
    title Slackware Linux (Slackware 12.0.0) (on /dev/hda3)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-generic-2.6.21.5 root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
    # linux installation on /dev/hda3.
    title Slackware Linux (Slackware 12.0.0) (on /dev/hda3)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-generic-smp-2.6.21.5-smp root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
    # linux installation on /dev/hda3.
    title Slackware Linux (Slackware 12.0.0) (on /dev/hda3)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-huge-2.6.21.5 root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot


    # This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for an existing
    # linux installation on /dev/hda3.
    title Slackware Linux (Slackware 12.0.0) (on /dev/hda3)
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-huge-smp-2.6.21.5-smp root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot

    frank@debian:~$
    __________________

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    mount hda3 partition and open /etc/lilo.conf file. check which kernel version its using. is it using any kernel parameter ( append line ). edit menu.lst file of Debian accordingly.
    check /boot partition of hda3 for available kernels.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166
    OK here it is,
    Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/hda3
    label = Linux
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends

    What do I put in Grub?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    just put vmlinuz only.
    Code:
    title Slackware Linux 
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    From where did you can the Slackware 12.0 ? i'm just asking .and do you know when the official version will be released ?
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by aliov
    From where did you can the Slackware 12.0 ? i'm just asking .and do you know when the official version will be released ?
    i was searching for Slackware 12 too and got a little info here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166
    Got from Slackware mirror current iso.
    I'm getting "Kernel panic-not syncing:VFS Unable to mount root on unknown - block (33)
    Going back to try to boot with your

    title Slackware Linux
    root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot
    let you know soon.

  8. #8
    fvs
    fvs is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Scranton, Pa
    Posts
    166

    Resolved!

    That did it, here I am in Slack 12.0, Thanks Guys, your on the ball. Great company.

    devils_casper
    just put vmlinuz only.
    Code:

    title Slackware Linux root (hd0,2)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz ro root=/dev/hda3
    savedefault
    boot

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are Welcome fvs ! glad to help you.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    i was searching for Slackware 12 too and got a little info here.
    Yes, i found already this site,and also i checked the changelog,but i didn't find anything related to the date of the new release !
    i know from where i can get a betta one but i want to know the official day of the Salck 12.

    Thanks.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •