Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello linuxforums.org. I was searching google and came across this website. Heres my problem. When I am trying to install Slackware 11 on my SATA HD, using the DVD, everything ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    SATA DVD-Drive not working


    Hello linuxforums.org. I was searching google and came across this website. Heres my problem. When I am trying to install Slackware 11 on my SATA HD, using the DVD, everything works until the point where it needs to find the source for the install. It can't find my SATA DVD/cd drive. How do I set it up manually, how would I mount it or whatever? I don't get why it wouldn't find it, as its running the installer off my cd drive.

    Thanks,
    -Dax.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    try to mount it manually before typing setup.

    mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdb cdrom.
    where /dev/hdb is the name of your DVD inode device (it can be sdb or ....)
    and cdrom is a directory that you make.

    Hope this help-
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    Didn't work, thanks for the reply though. I am about to try to install it via vmware, I'm pretty sure its possible.

    Can someone give me details on how I would go about installing slackware via Partition? It says 'Select source', and one of the options is "Partition".

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! lx4svr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19

    sdb or sdc...

    /dev/sdb or /dev/sdc.... sata shows like a scsi device.

  6. #5
    Just Joined! lx4svr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19

    partition

    Sorry did not see the other question...

    "Can someone give me details on how I would go about installing slackware via Partition? It says 'Select source', and one of the options is "Partition"."

    I am affraid I do not follow, you mean install to a vmware partion, or install vmware as a partion instead of vmware files?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3
    I got it working by booting into 'huge26.s'. Now how do I install the kernel modules?

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Use the modules wish are in extra/linux-2.6.17.13/ install the module package and the headers (in case you want to compile a new kernel or extra module like ndiswarapper and others).


    hope this help
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •