Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello everyone. I'm brand new to Linux (Had Alinux 12.8 up and running for 2 days now) as I am sick to frigging death of Windows, ad-nauseum, and I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Tutorials and info

Hello everyone.

I'm brand new to Linux (Had Alinux 12.8 up and running for 2 days now) as I am sick to frigging death of Windows, ad-nauseum, and I was wondering if there is a basic tutorial or something that can give me a clearer picture of how things work, and how I can accomplish something as basic as installing some drivers for my video, motherboard and sound. I'm Ok with anything that's complicated, and will always be more comfortable at a DOS prompt (or an assembler prompt) than a mouse cursor. I just need info. I'm getting old and don't have the time to learn it all the hard way again. Any help appreciated. And no, I didn't manage to Google up anything useful, other than extremely basic stuff (how to logon, duh, how to logoff, duh).

THanks in advance.

Just Joined!
    Yes, I just found the "Tutorials and Info" section on this forum. Yes, sometimess I overlook the simple things. Yes, sometimes I'm a farking idiot. Yes, I know.

Welcome to linux, and the forums

Hrm, prompting yourself to RTFM without being told, I think you have potential to learn pretty quickly
    Living the digital dream....
    Disclaimer: I may be wrong since I was once before.
    Breathe out so I can breathe you in ~~Everlong

A great resource - The Linux Documentation Project

If you get to the scripting stage check out The Advanced Bash Scripting Guide.

Linux is basically a Unix variant so between the mountains of pages that have turned up on the net in recent years on Linux you can also check out a lot of history on Unix to get a good idea of the bigger picture.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the welcome, Rudie, and thanks for the link, BigTom.