Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello, i was just wonderin if i can upgrade my xfce to its current version 4.4xx?? how do i upgrade it?? thanks!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! rck_hitokiri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    35

    xfce question


    Hello, i was just wonderin if i can upgrade my xfce to its current version 4.4xx?? how do i upgrade it?? thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Yes you can,

    Install slackpkg-2.61-noarch-2 for the extra directory,

    edit the /etc/slackpkg/mirrors and put this line
    ftp://ftp.slackware.at/slackware-12.0/ (wherever you like in the file)

    connect to the internet and type

    slackpkg update
    slackpkg upgrade xfce

    install also the hal-0.5.9.1-i486-1 (for automating devices )
    dbus-qt3-0.70-i486-1
    dbus-glib-0.73-i486-1
    dbus-1.0.2-i486-3
    all of these stuff are in the l directory. you can install them by slackpg install .......... or upgrade if you have a old version.

    this worked for me without any problem , in case of any problem please post here.

    Hope this helps.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! rck_hitokiri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    35

    thanks! questions....

    im kinda intermediate at linux so i was wonderin how to change my mirrors and stuff... if iyou dont mind can you please give me some hints please? thanks a lot!

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    Okay by default Slackware comes with emacs, so go to /etc/slackpkg and
    type emacs mirrors ,enter the mirrors name ,and Ctrl x+Ctrl s to save (or kwrite if you have it ) and then run slackpkg update.
    and then follow what i told you and don't hesitate to post about any news.

    Regards.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! rck_hitokiri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    35

    report!

    well iu downloaded slackpkg and all was well, after the upgrades i installed the new xfce and sadly x didnt start ad reboot... i think i missed something out and i reinstalled slack again... but that wont stop me from learning this! wish me luck!

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer aliov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Geneva,Beirut
    Posts
    1,078
    But you don't have to reinstall Slack again , since with xfce you can run startxfce and see the error of that command without starting and windows manager .

    Regards.
    Linux is not only an operating system, it's a philosophy.
    Archost.

  7. #7
    Just Joined! rck_hitokiri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    35

    reply

    Oh yeah i forgot that i can do that.... memory block.... i'll try it again and i'll post the outcomes! Till then!

    thanks and regards!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •