Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have just installed Slackware 12 and added to the Mandriva grub menu list. When I try to boot to Slackware everything is going well and in the end this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Slackware 12 can't login

I have just installed Slackware 12 and added to the Mandriva grub menu list. When I try to boot to Slackware everything is going well and in the end this message is shown "welcome to linux 2.6.21.5-smp (tty1) driton login" , during the installation I didn't add any user or put any password so I am stuck here and can't move because is saying invalid password and I can't login.
    As I am new to Linux I be grateful if somebody can help me. Thanks in advance.

You didn't set password?

All I can think of is that you have a complete and default install. Login as root.

Slack doesn't guide you through the installation as much as most other distro's. So the install procedure doesn't make you define a user. You'll need to do that afterwards, manually.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Quote Originally Posted by driton View Post
    I have just installed Slackware 12 and added to the Mandriva grub menu list. When I try to boot to Slackware everything is going well and in the end this message is shown "welcome to linux 2.6.21.5-smp (tty1) driton login" , during the installation I didn't add any user or put any password so I am stuck here and can't move because is saying invalid password and I can't login.
    As I am new to Linux I be grateful if somebody can help me. Thanks in advance.
    to set the root password do passwd root
    to make a new user called aliov do:

useradd -s /bin/bash -d /home/aliov -m -p (password) -g users -G dbus,haldaemon,video,avahi,audio aliov