Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
.xprofile? Never seen that when I had Slack! Anyways, glad it's working...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    .xprofile? Never seen that when I had Slack!

    Anyways, glad it's working
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    As i said before while i was reading /etc/X11/Xsession file there was written

    "instead of using xsession file use xprofile file" so i did this.thats it.
    you are right i am also glad it is working.
    Thank you again.
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by heartsmagic
    I've solved my problem. I made a mistake before.
    Just add the
    xmms &
    part to the .xprofile file and now everything is OK.
    Thx for help Chris H
    Where is .xprofile located on your machine? ~/ ? I am having the same problems. I tried putting the commands to execute my programs in etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc and etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.blackbox (my current windowing system) also I've tried copying etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc to ~/.xinitrc and it still didn't work. Any help would be appreciated.

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    53
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    # $XConsortium: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.4 91/08/22 11:41:34 rws Exp $
      
    userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
    usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap 
    sysresources=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources
    sysmodmap=/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap
    
    # merge in defaults and keymaps
        
    if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
        xrdb -merge $sysresources
    fi
        
    if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
        xmodmap $sysmodmap
    fi
    
    if [ -f $userresources ]; then
    
    
    fi
        
    if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
        xmodmap $usermodmap
    fi
        
    # Start the window manager:
    exec /usr/X11R6/bin/blackbox
    xterm &
    gaim &
    ~/bbweather-0.6.2/GrabWeather KDOV &
    bbweather &
    bbmail &
    bbacpi &
    My .xinitrc fille

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4
    the exec blackbox line should be last
    move the apps before the blackbox line and it should work fine

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    Construct, you can also use the .xinitrc file in your home directory
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    53
    Thanks for the quick help. Although I already found the answer at #slackware on undernet. I did know I could use the one in my home directory, I had already copied one there. Again thanks for the help.

  8. #18
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    Construct, here what i didnt understand.
    Now are you using .xinitrc file? or any other file?

    I tried using .xinitrc but it didnt work. so i tried .xprofile.
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    53
    I had to put my programs before my window manager in .xinitrc.
    Code:
    xchat&
    gaim&
    etc...
    
    exec /insert/windowManager/here
    Hope that helps :P.

  10. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    I use Slackware 9.1 and .xinitrc does not work. Interesting.
    Thx for reply.
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •