Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
A friend of mine in my Linux class told me a program called zebra that I will need for my project. I downloaded and unzipped it, ran ./configure, make, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Program Installations

A friend of mine in my Linux class told me a program called zebra that I will need for my project. I downloaded and unzipped it, ran ./configure, make, and make install in a bash shell and the installation went flawless. Unfortunatly I do not know how to run the program lol. This is something that has had me stuck for a while. I've looked through all the directories and menus and I couldn't find anything useful. Anyone have any advice they could give me about how to run newly installed programs? I starting to feel like a total noob lol.

the program executables will be found in /usr/bin directory and the things which need root acess can be found in /sbin

you can also search for specific program name by using command
    Code:
    whereis -b program
    for zebra
    Code:
    whereis -b zebra
    life is the greatest opportunity that the nature had given you

Just Joined!
    Thx for the reply. Igot it installed and now I just have to configure it, it shouldn't be that difficult. Also has anyone used beryl? if so tell me what you think of it. I have been trying to install it but some dependencies are stopping me from doing it. I'll work it all out.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by kd2323 View Post
    Thx for the reply. Igot it installed and now I just have to configure it, it shouldn't be that difficult. Also has anyone used beryl? if so tell me what you think of it. I have been trying to install it but some dependencies are stopping me from doing it. I'll work it all out.
    I have installed beryl.
    I just downloaded source packages and installed one by one.