Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy 2 Problems - SuSE 10.0 & KDE 3.5

Hi, I am new to linux and am really enjoying SuSE 10.0 unfortunately I have a couple of.... things, that I can't get to work that are starting to bug me and any help with solving the problem would be appreciated.

1) I am using a Compaq Evo N600c what has the usual 4+ internet keys and of course a Fn key for adjusting contrast etc,. In KDE I have the right keyboard set but couldn't find anywhere to adjust the settings (the Fn key works but not with all buttons, example I can turn Num lock on but can't adjust contrast both use Fn). I have also tried lineakd to setup multimedia keys but can't get that to work. Any suggestions ??

2) KDE 3.5 has the cool feature of when inserting a media device (DVD /iPod) it asks what you want to do. I have tried adding my own option so that when I insert a DVD xine is an option and it will start and play DVD automaticly (xine -pd) setting up is fine (and the command works, might have it wrong here) but when I run the option I get the following error: "Error - KIOExec" '/media/dvd is a folder, but a file was expected'. Same thing happens when I try to auto launch Gtkpod.

Sorry about the long post I have tried googling with no luck the problems are probably more KDE then SuSE so sorry if the post is in the wrong place Again, any help appreciated.

I'm having the EXACT same problem with my ipod - why in the world doesn't KDE execute the bash script I wrote when run from the ipod as it does when I choose run in KDE? I think it's a bug, guess I should try to find it and file it... not signed up for the KDE bug filing system yet though...

kde DVD autoplay problem - solved

-->
    I had the same. I tried to configure different xine startup scripts:

xine -p dvd:/
    xine --auto-play --auto-scan dvd
    xine %u