Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I can't get Java runtime to work in firefox. I have the java 1.6.0 plugin for firefox installed, via YAST but java doesn't work. I have no idea where to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226

    Java for Firefox


    I can't get Java runtime to work in firefox. I have the java 1.6.0 plugin for firefox installed, via YAST but java doesn't work. I have no idea where to start.
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  2. #2
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    What version of Suse?

    Is it 64 bit or 32??

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    oops... Got lazy...
    It is OpenSUSE 10.3 32-bit.
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  4. #4
    Linux Guru gogalthorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West (by God) Virginia
    Posts
    3,104
    Java should have been installed by default. How are you trying to install it?

  5. #5
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Enter "about:plugins" in Firefox. Is java listed in the output?

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    I thought it was installed by default as well. And no firefox does not say I have a java plugin.
    I used YAST to install the latest java run time environment (1.6.0) and I checked the java-firefox plugin in YAST as well.
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie uninvisible's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    224
    I always seem to have this problem as well. Hopefully this will help....
    You need to create a symbolic link to libjavaplugin_oji.so in .mozilla/firefox/plugins folder.

    On my system the java plugin is located in /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6XXX/jre/plugins/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    If yours is different just do a search for the plugin in your system.

    To create the link, go to the firefox plugins directory, start the command line and enter

    Code:
    ln -s /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6XXX/jre/plugins/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    Linux. Get Counted!! http://counter.li.org/

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie dalinux_n00bie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    226
    thank you.... that worked.
    "Do or do not...there is no try" -Yoda
    History is a set of lies agreed upon by the winners.
    Linux is user friendly, not idiot friendly.
    Linux User 437442

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •