Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am relatively new to linux so any advice that could help would be much appreciated . I have installed openSUSE 10.3 on to my PC and it will not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

MBR Errors with OpenSUSE 10.3

I am relatively new to linux so any advice that could help would be much appreciated .

I have installed openSUSE 10.3 on to my PC and it will not boot. I carried out the installation by setting up my USB pendrive with SYSLINUX bootloader, which I then boot from and pointed at the hard drive partition with the openSUSE ISO file on installed fine. My setup is that I have three hard drives:

180GB primary master.
    60GB primary slave.
    40GB secondary master.

Note: order shown is BIOS boot order.

During the installation I partitioned the hard drives in the following way:

180GB not partitioned as will be used for backup at a later point.
    60GB Partitions:
    -- 30GB /opt.
    -- 20GB /home.
    -- 10GB NTFS for openSUSE ISO, partition will be removed of shrunken after successful installation.

40GB Partitions:
    -- 1GB /boot.
    -- 2GB swap.
    -- 37GB /.

Note: order of partitions shown is order they exist on the hard drives.

After installation I remove the USB pendrive and when rebooting PC I am faced with following message:

Verifying DMI Pool Data....
    MBR Error 3

MBR Error 1
    Press any key to boot from floppy

Have I partitioned correctly? With the boot order shown earlier does this need to be changed so the drive with the /boot partition is loaded first from BIOS?

If so would the following BIOS boot order be fine?
    -- Boot 1st 40GB (with /boot on).
    -- Boot 2nd 60GB.
    -- Boot 3rd 180GB.

If this is so, how does this effect Linux labelling the drives e.g. hda, hdb, hdc?

For example will the drives be labelled according to which is booted first from the BIOS?
    Example:

Boot 1st
    40GB = hda:
    -- 1GB /boot = hda1.