Find the answer to your Linux question:
Im a newb in linux, and was installing vmware on suse10.1 when this came up: WARNING: VMware Server has been configured to run on a port different from the default ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Post gcc installation on suse10.1

Im a newb in linux, and was installing vmware on suse10.1 when this came up:

WARNING: VMware Server has been configured to run on a port different from the
    default port. Remember to use this port when connecting to this server.
    Shutting down xinetd: done
    Starting INET services. (xinetd) done
    Configuring the VMware VmPerl Scripting API.

Building the VMware VmPerl Scripting API.

Unable to find the compiler specified in the CC environnment variable:
    "/usr/gcc-3.4".

Setup is unable to find the "gcc" program on your machine. Please make sure it
    is installed. Do you want to specify the location of this program by hand?
    [yes]
    It means that i need to install gcc. Where do i get it and how do i install it? Someone who is conversant with suse10.1 kindly assist me. I have taken 2 days trying this out without success.
    Thanx
    Last edited by devils casper; 12-17-2007 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Email ID removed.

First of all - take your e-mail address out of your post !

I strongly recommend you use YAST to install software and add the relevant repositories - check out the link Package Repositories - openSUSE

You will also need to install the kernel source, via Yast also. Neither gcc or the kernel-source are installed by default.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    You will also need to install the kernel source, via Yast also. Neither gcc or the kernel-source are installed by default.