Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I am a complete newbie to linux, I purchased a copy of SUSE 9.1 Personal tried following the install guide but am running into some problems: The system ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cannot install Suse 9.1 Personal with cd-rom drive?

Hello all,
    I am a complete newbie to linux, I purchased a copy of SUSE 9.1 Personal tried following the install guide but am running into some problems:

The system I am using is a Dell OptiPlex Gs, 128mg, 5gb hd, Win98.
    >Since the installation requires booting from the cd-rom drive this system does not have that option in setup, only A, HD or HD, A.
    How can I get around this without a boot floppy?

>Also this may sound like a dumb question but can you install suse 9.1 over an existing copy of Win98 or do you need to format the HD? The installation guide is not very helpful and there is not much on troubleshooting an installation.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

you can create a boot floopy, there are images for the floppy online, or you can instert the cd, and the autorun should have an option to create a bootfloppy. When you start the install you will have an option to delete all existing partitions, when you do that, the purification will have begun!
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Linux Engineer
    How can I get around this without a boot floppy?
    about this i think you can install linux as qub333 said and install a boot loader in the mbr.i think also that with selecting expert partitioning in suse 9.1 installation you can see where ti install linux avoiding erasing existing windows partitioning.although basic knowledge on partitioning is needed!
    Linux For Ever!

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the info but it sounds a bit complicated.